Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Rocky Bilboa

Prepared cards question

Recommended Posts

Overall fantastic game, so thank you FFG.

I have a question about prepared cards usage. Does all the text on prepared cards apply when you activate them or are they either/or?

For instance:

Pathfinder 1 - Trailblazer

Before you sprint, gain 1 inspiration

Sprint 1 (During your turn, discard to move 1 space.)

This can be read that you can do both of these things actions one after the other. Or are you only able to do one or the other? There are plenty of other cards that are worded in a similar way. What is the correct way to interpret this please?

Thanks in advance for the replies.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Simply put, there are two types:

1. Abilities which require you to discard the card like all keywords or if it says discard to do this. 

2. Abilities with ongoing effects (such as the one you posted). 

When you don’t need to discard a card, that ability is always used, and it is used in conjunction with any keyword it refers to, even on the same card. 

So if you have 2 prepared cards: Trailblazer and Paths Unseen. You say you will Sprint 1 using Path Unseen, then get 1 inspiration from Trailblazer, then Sprint 1 by discarding and using Paths Unseen. 

Or you can say you will Sprint 1 with Trailblazer, get 1 inspiration then use Trailblazer to Spring 1 by discarding it. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know I speculated on BGG that it resolved differently than what I'm about to say, but based on the ensuing civil discussion, the rules for abilities and timing (and the upcoming errata revealed by Grace H.) I am pretty sure that if you discard Trailblazer to Sprint 1 you do get the inspiration token.

Since it says "Before you Sprint" and Sprint X says you "may discard the card to move x additional spaces" I do think it triggers before you discard it. That's very helpful!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, I still have some slight confusion over the order of things, especially when using multiple abilities. For example:

1) discarding hidden to add a success during the attack test

2) discarding Quick Thinking (burglar) to gain emboldened

3) gain 2 hits during the attack for emboldened?

i'm pretty sure all the adverbs involved were "when" which means I choose the order. So I think this combo works but I have some doubts. It's a fun one though so there's that!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...