Jump to content
PikminToo

Clarification Requested

Recommended Posts

Hi I'm still new to the game and I've gotten several different answers to this question, none of which had any rules reference cited to them. So I figured the greater community will have all the answers. So the problem is this: can Darth Vader use new ways to motivate them and chose to eliminate a medical droid on a stromtrooper unit as the sacrifice model? The idea was use up the medic and then sac them for the extra action. I've been told yes that's okay since its you choosing the model to sack and I've been told no medic droids need to be the last model alive except for the commander. So which is it and why does it work like that in the rules? Thank you!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
26 minutes ago, PikminToo said:

Hi I'm still new to the game and I've gotten several different answers to this question, none of which had any rules reference cited to them. So I figured the greater community will have all the answers. So the problem is this: can Darth Vader use new ways to motivate them and chose to eliminate a medical droid on a stromtrooper unit as the sacrifice model? The idea was use up the medic and then sac them for the extra action. I've been told yes that's okay since its you choosing the model to sack and I've been told no medic droids need to be the last model alive except for the commander. So which is it and why does it work like that in the rules? Thank you!

You cannot assign the wound from "New ways to motivate them" to the medical droid. The answer is under "Noncombatant" on the RRG:

"If an upgrade that adds a miniature to a unit has the noncombatant keyword, the mini added by that upgrade cannot use any weapons and wounds must be assigned to other non-unit leader minis first."

The only case where you can assign a wound to a noncombatant before any other non-leader mini of the unit, is if they are defending and the noncombatant mini is the only mini seen by the attacker.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't think you can choose the medial droid due to the way it's worded on the card. It says that you "may suffer 1 wound" which sounds just like if the unit was taking damage and doesn't specify a mini in the same way that force choke, which does allow you to select a specific mini, does. I could be wrong though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...