Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Bayushi Shunsuke

[Ruling] Young Warrior

Recommended Posts

I have a question regarding Young Warrior and effects that prevent it from declaring as an attacker/defender.

If the Unicorn player is 1st player and has a Young Warrior in play that is under the effect of Asahina Takamori (which prevents it from being declared an attacker or defender this round), must the Unicorn player then pass their first conflict because the Young Warrior says it must be declared as an attacker or defender in the first conflict each turn?

Also what happens if the Young Warrior instead has a Stolen Breath or Pacifism attached?
Is the Unicorn player then forced to go MIL (Stolen Breath) or POL (Pacifism) their first conflict?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Bayushi Shunsuke said:

I have a question regarding Young Warrior and effects that prevent it from declaring as an attacker/defender.

If the Unicorn player is 1st player and has a Young Warrior in play that is under the effect of Asahina Takamori (which prevents it from being declared an attacker or defender this round), must the Unicorn player then pass their first conflict because the Young Warrior says it must be declared as an attacker or defender in the first conflict each turn?

Also what happens if the Young Warrior instead has a Stolen Breath or Pacifism attached?
Is the Unicorn player then forced to go MIL (Stolen Breath) or POL (Pacifism) their first conflict?

If a Young Warrior cannot be declared as an attacker or defender (due to Takamori, Pacifism, Stolen Breath, or other) then its text has no effect—“cannot” overrides “must,” and once the first conflict has been declared the Young Warrior’s text is no longer relevant. So if a Young Warrior has Pacifism attached, and the first conflict of the phase is military, it can be declared in a future political conflict. The Unicorn player is never forced to pass a conflict declaration because Young Warrior cannot be declared as an attacker due to a card effect.

I should clarify that, as you must fulfill as many “must” conditions as possible, if the player with the Pacifism’ed Young Warrior is the first player and they declare an attack, it must be political with the Young Warrior attacking (as Young Warrior must be declared in the first conflict, and in this instance the Warrior can only be declared as a political attacker).

[Tyler Parrott, Apr 26 2019]

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...