Jump to content
Dagrinch

Fixed Forward and 360º fire arc weapons

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

Greetings.

We had an interesting situation come up last night regarding the Imperial Occupier shooting.  The main guns have "Fixed Forward" while the "Pintle mounted Rifle" (forgot name) doesn't have any restriction (360º).  Both weapons are used to form the attack pool (8 dice).  The target unit has 3 models in the front arc and 2 outside the front arc, in range.  Does the "Fixed Forward" rule take full effect on all attack dice and all hits are limited to 3 models/targets or can all 5 models/targets receive hits?

 

Does that make since?

Edited by Dagrinch
corrected

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From my understanding of page 16 of the RR when it comes to Attack Pool:

Quote

• A weapon can only contribute its dice to an attack pool if
the following restrictions are met:


»» The range of the attack is equal to or greater than the
weapons’ minimum range and equal to or less than the
weapon’s maximum range.
»» The miniature using the weapon has line of sight to at
least one mini in the defending unit.
»» If the weapon can exhaust, it must be readied.
»» To add a weapon with the fixed: x keyword to the attack
pool, the defender must be inside the specified firing arc
of the attacking mini.

When you say 3 inside arc and 2 outside, my answer is based on the 5 are in the same unit.   ...If in same unit then yes you may use both weapons on that unit. Additionally, you only really need to be in range and line of sight to one mini to attack the entire unit, since beyond Force Choke (from what I remember at this time) all attacks are towards a unit not specific minis. However, if a mini(s) in that unit is completely blocked from line of sight it/they cannot receive damage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Dagrinch said:

Does the "Fixed Forward" rule take full effect on all attack dice and all hits are limited to 3 models/targets or can all 5 models/targets receive hits?

Fixed Forward does not prevent any of the minis in the defending unit from taking damage. So long as there is a mini in the firing arc, the unit is a legal target. Nothing in the rules says the specific mini being assigned wounds has to be in that firing arc.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...