Jump to content

Recommended Posts

21 minutes ago, StephenEsven said:

The rules do not say that a ship overlaps an object when it is placed underneath it.

A contradiction would be if the rules say a ship does not overlap an object placed underneath it, and having an official ruling say that it does overlap. One says yes, the other says no. In this case, the rules say nothing, and the ruling says it overlaps. One says yes, the other says nothing. That is a clarification, not a contradiction.

Quote

And the rules for devices explicitly states that it must be placed underneath more than one ship to detonate immediately.

There is no rule stating that a device must be placed underneath multiple ships to detonate immediately; the rule you are referring to only tells us what happens when multiple ships overlap, not that multiple ships are required. The FAQ/official rulings thread tell us that whenever an object is placed underneath a ship, that ship overlaps it. That is enough to cause proximity mines/ion nets to immediately detonate when placed beneath a single ship.

It's important to remember, by the way, that the RRG is not the only official rules source for X-wing. It's the most important one, absolutely, and when there is a contradiction between the RRG and another rules source the RRG wins. Unfortunately, however, the RRG is neither comprehensive nor perfectly drafted. If you're not willing to accept FFG's official rulings as official then there really isn't much discussion to be had, because you're simply not playing with the same set of rules as everyone else.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, StephenEsven said:

The rules do not say that a ship overlaps an object when it is placed underneath it.

And the rules for devices explicitly states that it must be placed underneath more than one ship to detonate immediately.

agreed. it's the FAQ that says that.

no, it states that it detonates immediately if it's placed under more than one ships base, not that it must be placed under more than one ships base to detonate immediately.

i still don't see how the original rules and the FAQ contradict each other. i think they complement each other quite well. care to explain?

Edited by meffo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So is whats the consensus on buzz droids?

Do the immediately relocate if the overlap on launch?

Do they immediately detonate if they overlap an enemy ship when they would be placed?

 

Seems like it would be reaaaaaly difficult to make them useful if they cant overlap multiple ships....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Here's what we know:

  1. Buzz Droid Swarms are Remotes, which are a subgroup of Devices, which are a subgroup of Objects.
  2. Buzz Droid Swarms latch onto a ship when that enemy ship moves through or overlaps the buzz droid device token.
  3. On page 26 of the Rules Reference, there is a clarification about proximity mines that addresses this issue"When an object is placed underneath a ship, that ship counts as overlapping that object."

Given those two pieces of information, when Discord Missiles are fired and Buzz Droids deployed, if their final position would overlap an enemy ship, their game text immediately triggers, and they are relocated to the chosen ship's guides per the card text.  This includes immediate detonation if they cannot fit on the battlefield.

An important distinction to make, though, is that they do NOT relocate if they are launched OVER another ship.  The launch template is not enough to fulfill the requirements of Buzz Droid Swarm's trigger:  only if an enemy ship "moves through or overlaps" do they get to relocate or explode.  By that same note, if the device is launched and does NOT overlap an enemy ship, they stay where they are, even if that means they're overlapping another object, like a mine or obstacle.  The "cannot overlap an object" rule only applies when relocating the device, not when initially launching it.

latest?cb=20190307204252latest?cb=20190307205335

Edited by emeraldbeacon

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, AngryAlbatross said:

What if they overlap another ship when being relocated?  Are ships objects?

Yes. From page 13 of the Rules reference:

Quote

OBJECTS

Ships, obstacles, and devices are all objects. The exact position of objects in the play area is tracked and restricted by game effects.

• Ships can acquire locks on objects.

• Ships can move through objects.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 minutes ago, AngryAlbatross said:

If a buzz droid swarm relocates, but an enemy ship overlaps it again (say by moving after the first ship that interacted with the droids),  does it relocate again? 

Yes. Buzz droids does not have a limit on the number of times per turn that it can relocate, so every time an enemy ship overlaps or moves through already placed buzz droids the buzz droids relocate to either the front or rear guides of the ship.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...