Jump to content
n5vei

What is a trooper? For use with Force Choke

Recommended Posts

A question came up in the game the other night. 

Before anyone I looked up the definitions.

So I had Palp outfitted with force throw (Choose an enemy trooper unit at range 1. Perform a speed-1 move with that unit, even if it is engaged).

Boba was withing range 1.  My opponent said... he is not a "trooper", trooper are only snow troopers and storm troopers.  According to the rule book it says - "A trooper is a unit type that consists of one or more miniatures affixed to a small round base. • Each unit’s type or subtype is presented on its unit card beneath that unit’s artwork."

So my interpretation is that on the card Boba is a "Trooper" according to type  below his picture in the upper right corner.  Opponent says no he is not a trooper, but he is an operative according to his order token.

What is right?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh, but also note that Force Choke was errata’d. Check the back of the latest RRG. You can only choose non-Commander and non-Operative minis, so can’t choke Boba. Force Push still works though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Have a look at the unit cards.

At the top right there is the art of the unit, left of it is the Rank symbol of the unit and the number how many minis belong to the unit in its core. however below the picture is the unit type written such as:

Trooper

Emplacement trooper

Repulsor vehicle

Ground vehicle

 

Edited by Taiowaa

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Along the lines of the wording of Force Choke. It says choose 1 miniature to kill. Does that mean that I, the one with say Vader and Force Choke, target a unit of rebels with a Z6, I may choose to target the Z6 with the choke as long as all other rules applied?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
24 minutes ago, choassassin said:

Along the lines of the wording of Force Choke. It says choose 1 miniature to kill. Does that mean that I, the one with say Vader and Force Choke, target a unit of rebels with a Z6, I may choose to target the Z6 with the choke as long as all other rules applied?

That’s exactly what it’s for. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, crx3800 said:

I'm now amused by the idea that the force user tries to choke and some random dude in the hallway gets choked instead. 

that happens when you force choke the unit leader, although the unit owner chooses the 'random' dude or dudette that dies

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...