Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
LordCola

IG-88 and IG-88B in the same list?

Recommended Posts

Can you have IG-88 and the new IG-88B in the same list?

The rules regarding unique cards says:

Quote

A card’s name is unique if there is a bullet (•) to the left of the name. 
• A fleet cannot contain more than one card with the same unique name, even if those cards are of different types. 

Well "IG-88" and "IG-88B" are technically different strings, so they are different names, right?

They would work well together IG-88 + Saber Squadron can take out the enemies Intel so that enemy squads are tied down with IG-88B so that he can trigger his ability without the enemy being able to fly away.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, LordCola said:

Can you have IG-88 and the new IG-88B in the same list?

The rules regarding unique cards says:

Well "IG-88" and "IG-88B" are technically different strings, so they are different names, right?

They would work well together IG-88 + Saber Squadron can take out the enemies Intel so that enemy squads are tied down with IG-88B so that he can trigger his ability without the enemy being able to fly away.

Yes. They are two totally different droids. You can have both.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

hrm, might not be related but interesting thing to note with this... the falcon has different stats with Han to Lando* ... so does this support that you can have multiple Falcons in a rebel list?

 

*Han has blue + black A/ship V landos red + blue... then their A/Sqn is 2 blue + 2 black (han) V 2 blue +1 red +1 black (lando)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
17 minutes ago, slasher956 said:

hrm, might not be related but interesting thing to note with this... the falcon has different stats with Han to Lando* ... so does this support that you can have multiple Falcons in a rebel list?

 

*Han has blue + black A/ship V landos red + blue... then their A/Sqn is 2 blue + 2 black (han) V 2 blue +1 red +1 black (lando)

 

As of now, there's nothing in the rules as of now to prevent you from taking both Lando and Han squadrons in the same list.

Edited by jp82729

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, jp82729 said:

As of now, there's nothing in the rules as of now to prevent you from taking both Lando and Han squadrons in the same list.

Nothing right now, true.

But these come in the Rebellion in the Rim box, and it is not hard to imagine there might be a rules insert.

Also note the subtle difference in ship names:

ig88.pngIG88B.png

han-solo.pngLando-Falcon.png

Edited by Green Knight

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Grand Admiral Buford said:

In the world of x-wing, there are four distinct versions of IGs. A-D. Each does something different but combine powers when on the board together. Not sure how you would represent that synergy in armada but could be interesting to see.

Bonus points for giving them a Voltron color scheme...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 hours ago, Green Knight said:

<snip>

But these come in the Rebellion in the Rim box, and it is not hard to imagine there might be a rules insert.

<snip>

There is an issue with that...depending on how its worded it you could end up affecting generics as well.... 

One option however is that this is early version and the actual version that is released (of the Lando card) and  it will have a unique dot next to the Falcons name, and an errata to put it on Hans card as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 minutes ago, slasher956 said:

There is an issue with that...depending on how its worded it you could end up affecting generics as well.... 

One option however is that this is early version and the actual version that is released (of the Lando card) and  it will have a unique dot next to the Falcons name, and an errata to put it on Hans card as well.

Issue with what exactly?

You mean they can't manage to make a rule, say relating how squadron names are formatted?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

The issue is the law on un-intended consequences ...What I'm saying is depending on how its (a possible rules addition) worded then it could affect other cards that it was supposed to.

 

Edited by slasher956
.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, Green Knight said:

Issue with what exactly?

You mean they can't manage to make a rule, say relating how squadron names are formatted?

I guess he pointed out the way the solved. It must be worded in a way you prevent unique like Lando/Han but doesn't mess with regular fighters not aces flying non-unique fighters either like Mithel/Howl. Anything too hard but something to be aware of. The easiest way would be to provide bullets on fighters names also but that would require errata. However, since the only named ships are the Millennium Falcon and Hera's it woui be a big deal. The Millennium Falcon is already been released again in that expansion so sneaking in an errated Han wouldn't be that hard. Hera should be wait I guess.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, slasher956 said:

.

However thinking about it some more they could just say that the unique dot affects both lines.  So Han in the falcon makes both Han & the Falcon unique.  Instead of just making Han unique as it does now

Then is Luke's X-Wing special?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, Kani Kantai said:

I personally would not allow two copies of the Falcon, but I can see that it is legal.

Feels like Rebellion on the Rim would have to include a rule about this. I can't imagine it wouldn't. The community has known it would be an issue for years now, ever since the first fan-made homebrew cards for Lando in the Falcon, so people shouldn't expect that FFG is unaware of this loophole. All dotted text is unique, but the rules don't necessarily prohibit uniqueness outside of dotted text. All FFG needs to do is include a rules insert that says "any italicized squadron name that appears on a squadron card is automatically unique, even if it isn't marked with a dot."

Edited by Nostromoid

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...