Jump to content
JYoder

Guardian of Esgaroth stat limit (add Wild Stallion or Faramir)

Recommended Posts

 

Guardian of Esgaroth says "Limit +3 to each" but I assume that's only for the 3 attachments on him and not a max on his stats overall. Meaning, if one of his attachments is Wild Stallion, then he'd have +4 to each stat?

And just as if you had ally Faramir in play, then he could be +5 willpower... but I'm not sure, as maybe "Limit +3 to each" should be viewed as an overall max on each stat. Thoughts?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

The limit is only on its own ability, not on other stats boosting abilities which might affect him.

So a Guardian of Esgaroth with attached a Wild Stallion, a Squire Helm and Valiant Determination and considering that LeBrand is in play would be a 6 Willpower, 5 Attack, 5 Defense, 7 hit points monster ally which does not exhaust to quest.

Edited by Alonewolf87

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Thanks. And that's an official ruling, or just what the community believes? Not to be devil's advocate, but that "Limit +3 to each" does seem rather definite, and doesn't explicitly say it's in regards to the attachments.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
16 minutes ago, JYoder said:

Thanks. And that's an official ruling, or just what the community believes? Not to be devil's advocate, but that "Limit +3 to each" does seem rather definite, and doesn't explicitly say it's in regards to the attachments.

I don't think we need an official ruling since if that limit was to be applied to any kind of stat boosting it would be worded differently. As it stands it's clear that the limit should be applied only to the Guardian's own ability.

If you want some sort of "official" confirmation I will let you know that during the Lure of Middle Earth of this March I played a Dale deck using that same combination I mentioned at a table with Caleb Grace againts Fire in the Night and he didn't raise any objections to it, so it seems legit... (but beware any treacheries/shadow effects blanking characters text boxes since they will rob the Guardian of many of its boosts possibily even killing it if it was already wounded)

Edited by Alonewolf87

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...