Jump to content
toxic newb

Supports into characters

Recommended Posts

Can you use the commando droids suppoet from two player game in a deck whose team is new commando droid characters? In the same way, will you be able to do the same with R2 and C3PO?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Neither version of the droid commandos are unique, so I don't see why not. I expect we'll get a ruling on the character version of R2 when that set is released. And I hope C-3PO will also be a character like R2, presumably with the same ruling.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

R2-D2 is unique so you need to follow the rules for uniqueness.  If R2 is one of your characters you CAN add 2 copies of support R2 to your deck but you CANNOT play support R2 if character R2 is still alive.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, pstalker said:

R2-D2 is unique so you need to follow the rules for uniqueness.  If R2 is one of your characters you CAN add 2 copies of support R2 to your deck but you CANNOT play support R2 if character R2 is still alive.

I would assume you're right, but I'd also expect an official ruling or text on the new cards to confirm that. Kinda like how Yoda's Spirit specifically says that it can't be played with Yoda.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, pstalker said:

R2-D2 is unique so you need to follow the rules for uniqueness.  If R2 is one of your characters you CAN add 2 copies of support R2 to your deck but you CANNOT play support R2 if character R2 is still alive.

That’s not actually a current deck construction rule but as Fromper says you would anticipate this change when set is released 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 hours ago, Fromper said:

I would assume you're right, but I'd also expect an official ruling or text on the new cards to confirm that. Kinda like how Yoda's Spirit specifically says that it can't be played with Yoda.

It has to say that, because "Yoda" and "Yoda's Spirit" are two different names. If it was just a support that said "Yoda" then it wouldn't need to. That's why Obi-Wan Kenobi (any version) and One with the Force can be in play at the same time. It's clearly Obi-Wan's Spirit, but since it's not listed at that (early Destiny), they never thought to play it like that.

It's no different if they make a Palpatine (a Chancellor version that rides along with Anakin or something) support card that just says "Palpatine"...you can't have Palpatine1, 2, or 3 character AND the support into play b/c the title's are the same. Though it would be funny to see a version that for Heroes vs a Villains version.

~D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/18/2019 at 2:25 AM, DarkFallenAngel said:

That’s not actually a current deck construction rule but as Fromper says you would anticipate this change when set is released 

It is absolutely covered in the current deck building rules

 

 -- A deck includes exactly 30 cards. The deck cannot include more than 2 copies of the same card.

 -- A deck can contain events, upgrades, downgrades, and supports. Characters, plots, and battlefields are not included in a deck and do not count toward its 30-card limit

 

Since characters are NOT part of your 30 card then the restriction of "deck cannot include more than 2 copies of the same card" does NOT apply when a character / card share the same name -- so you CAN include 2 copies of support R2-D2 when your team includes character R2-D2.

 

The unique rule tells us that "A player cannot have more than one copy of a unique card in play at the same time" -- since characters are "in play" until they are defeated you could not play R2-D2 support while you have an undefeated R2-D2 character in play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
On 4/23/2019 at 6:30 PM, pstalker said:

It is absolutely covered in the current deck building rules

 

 -- A deck includes exactly 30 cards. The deck cannot include more than 2 copies of the same card.

 -- A deck can contain events, upgrades, downgrades, and supports. Characters, plots, and battlefields are not included in a deck and do not count toward its 30-card limit  Lucky Patcher 9Apps VidMate

 

Since characters are NOT part of your 30 card then the restriction of "deck cannot include more than 2 copies of the same card" does NOT apply when a character / card share the same name -- so you CAN include 2 copies of support R2-D2 when your team includes character R2-D2.

 

The unique rule tells us that "A player cannot have more than one copy of a unique card in play at the same time" -- since characters are "in play" until they are defeated you could not play R2-D2 support while you have an undefeated R2-D2 character in play.

i have an undefeated R2-D2 character in play but i can play

Edited by wahidovic

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The unique rule says pretty much if you have more than one copy of a unique card, you must discard one of them.

As you can't 'discard' characters, the support must be discarded.

But if your character is defeated, you no longer control a unique of the name thus you are able to play the support version.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But if you are talking about non unique characters like commando droids, as there is no limit to the number of non unique cards you can have in play (following the deck building rules), so you can have both the support and the character in play at the same time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/28/2019 at 9:26 AM, TIE wing said:

The unique rule says pretty much if you have more than one copy of a unique card, you must discard one of them.

This is incorrect.  If you already have a unique card in play you are not even allowed to attempt to play a second copy.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/28/2019 at 8:55 AM, wahidovic said:

i have an undefeated R2-D2 character in play but i can play

Based on the current rules this is incorrect.  You may only have 1 unique card by name in play.  Since the support and character both have the same name and both are unique they CANNOT be both in play at the same time.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The character card name is "Commando Droid"
The support card name is "Droid Commandos"

These cards do not share the same name, so there is no naming restriction. 

Neither card is unique.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...