Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Pewpewpew BOOM

When a white action becomes red...

Recommended Posts

Saw this posed in a thread on the rules ref update...

New Rule:

◊ If two or more effects would alter the color of an action from its default color (e.g. “treat the action as red” ), the action is treated as the most restrictive of those colors.

How does this work when one has Airen Cracken and Baze Malbus working together...

Airen: After you perform an attack, you may choose 1 friendly ship at range 1. That ship may perform an action, treating it as red

Baze: While you perform a Icon action focus action, you may treat it as red. If you do, gain 1 additional focus token for each enemy ship at range 0-1, to a maximum of 2.

 

When I read these, I think the action is considered red before Baze kicks in...Does that matter to the rules on Baze?  It seems that card’s author assumed Focus actions would always be not red  

 


 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
32 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:

Yup.  Both thing can treat the action as red, and both of them work fine.

So by the same rationale, if Baze was on a ship that had a linked action red focus, Baze would trigger just like normal?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unlike many effects which change the color of an action, Baze and Airen Cracken doesn't specify that the difficulty of action he's modifying is White.

Some (like Daredevil) require the action they modify to be white before gaining the extra effect.  Baze is fine starting with a Red focus.  Airen is also fine working with a red action.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/14/2019 at 4:35 PM, Pewpewpew BOOM said:

Saw this posed in a thread on the rules ref update...

New Rule:

◊ If two or more effects would alter the color of an action from its default color (e.g. “treat the action as red” ), the action is treated as the most restrictive of those colors.

How does this work when one has Airen Cracken and Baze Malbus working together...

Airen: After you perform an attack, you may choose 1 friendly ship at range 1. That ship may perform an action, treating it as red

Baze: While you perform a Icon action focus action, you may treat it as red. If you do, gain 1 additional focus token for each enemy ship at range 0-1, to a maximum of 2.

 

When I read these, I think the action is considered red before Baze kicks in...Does that matter to the rules on Baze?  It seems that card’s author assumed Focus actions would always be not red  

 


 

The FAQ on pg 27 may help confirm this.  

 

Quote

Q: Airen Cracken [Z-95 Headhunter]’s pilot ability allows another friendly ship to “perform an action, treating it as red.” Can that ship choose to perform a red action, treating it as red? Can it choose to perform a purple action, treating it as red?

A: It can perform a red action, treating it as red. However, because purple is more difficult than red, it cannot perform a purple action, treating it as red.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...