Jump to content
Arcturion

Technology card, are technologies "tapped"???

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

 Have a question regarding the Technology Strategy card. A player of ours ,while he had the technology strategy card,used a technology he already had existing to research his free technology. He then wanted to then use both of those  technology cards with the second ability,  to then research another technology . We are used to playing in games where once you use a card it is considered tapped or exhausted. Is this the case in the example and the player cannot research the second technology since he "used" the first one already? Or in fact  is it that technologies used as perquisites  for research are never "tapped"/ exhausted  when a player uses as such as  above?

Edited by Arcturion
further explanation

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You never 'exhaust' a tech unless something specifically says to do so (as far as I can recall, this happens only on a few particular tech cards instructing you to do so in order to use their ability).

Meeting prerequisites consists exclusively of having that tech (even on the off chance that it has been exhausted by an ability earlier in the round). The only complication comes from planet cards with tech specialties -- you can exhaust a planet with a tech specialty to ignore one corresponding prerequisite. I am guessing that your error here comes from mis-understanding the mechanics associated with this. You do not exhaust techs and planets to meet prerequisites. You possess techs to meet prerequisites or exhaust planets to ignore (not technically 'meet') them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

that's exactly what happened. We knew the planets got exhausted with the tech specialty, and made the leap maybe techs were as well. ty very much!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...