Jump to content
EagleScoutof007

New deployment FAQ? Update: friend misunderstood pod cast.

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

A friend and I were playing a game of Legion earlier tonight. During deployment they stopped me from deploying my sniper team on a building in my deployment zone. He said there was an FAQ that deployment had to be all on the same level. Something to do with Pathfinders. Anyone know about this? They mentioned it being an email.

Update: friend misunderstood the podcast. Our group had a small chat about it. It was the cohesion thing with a single unit.

Edited by EagleScoutof007
Update

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I haven't heard anything about it, there's nothing in Official Rules on the forum, and it's not in the email compilation topic on this forum.

So I don't know where your friend was getting that from, someone else might be able to shed some light, or you could always use this form (https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/contact/rules/) to send an email asking about deploying on top of buildings.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the rrg under cohesion is say 

When placing a mini in cohesion, it cannot be placed onto a different level of terrain than its unit leader, unless that mini’s unit leader has just climbed or clambered. Minis can always be placed onto the same level as their unit leader when being placed in cohesion.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Steelgolem said:

In the rrg under cohesion is say 

When placing a mini in cohesion, it cannot be placed onto a different level of terrain than its unit leader, unless that mini’s unit leader has just climbed or clambered. Minis can always be placed onto the same level as their unit leader when being placed in cohesion.

 

That I understand. It's placing a strike team on a building that my friend pointed out that I can't do even in the deployment zone. Seems odd like what if you deployment zone ends up with a couple of building or tall flat pieces of terrain? This supposed rule may limit where you can deploy depending on how the table is set. I thought I'd ask if anyone knows of it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
26 minutes ago, EagleScoutof007 said:

That I understand. It's placing a strike team on a building that my friend pointed out that I can't do even in the deployment zone. Seems odd like what if you deployment zone ends up with a couple of building or tall flat pieces of terrain? This supposed rule may limit where you can deploy depending on how the table is set. I thought I'd ask if anyone knows of it.

There is no rule about that. If a terrain piece is in your deployment zone, you're free to place a unit on it, if otherwise allowable (speeders, overhang, cohesion, etc etc). Nothing says you have to have all units on the same "level" during deployment

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Page 19 and 20 state the same thing:

» When placing a mini in cohesion, it cannot be placed onto a different level of terrain than its unit leader, unless that mini’s unit leader has just climbed or clambered. Minis can always be placed onto the same level as their unit leader when being placed in cohesion.

since your unit has not climbed or clambered then the unit must be deployed on the same level during deployment.

Edited by Strutter5550

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Strutter5550 said:

Page 19 and 20 state the same thing:

» When placing a mini in cohesion, it cannot be placed onto a different level of terrain than its unit leader, unless that mini’s unit leader has just climbed or clambered. Minis can always be placed onto the same level as their unit leader when being placed in cohesion.

since your unit has not climbed or clambered then the unit must be deployed on the same level during deployment.

I understand the cohesion part. I was trying to deploy both mini's of my sniper strike team on top of a building in my deployment zone. My friend pointed out I cannot do to a recent FAQ where all units had to deployed on the same level. I haven't seen anything about that yet though. Maybe I missed something or not understanding it completely.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, EagleScoutof007 said:

I understand the cohesion part. I was trying to deploy both mini's of my sniper strike team on top of a building in my deployment zone. My friend pointed out I cannot do to a recent FAQ where all units had to deployed on the same level. I haven't seen anything about that yet though. Maybe I missed something or not understanding it completely.

I would guess that your friend just misunderstood the clarification about cohesion during deployment? There is definitely nothing preventing you from deploying different units at different elevations.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
48 minutes ago, nashjaee said:

I would guess that your friend just misunderstood the clarification about cohesion during deployment? There is definitely nothing preventing you from deploying different units at different elevations.

Yeah could be. I'll just need to double-check with him about. We both play multiple games and sometimes get rules mixed up. He's the TO for Legion around here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd ask him exactly where it says this, perhaps you can educate us all sincerely. Initially what jumped out to me was the whole cohesion thing, but I don't see anywhere that says the entire army needs to be deployed on the same elevation. Personally, I never heard of it and would've challenged his authority as the judge to confirm this beyond say so. As a official judge in other games, I always had print outs, laptop, etc so I could prove I wasn't making up stuff if ever challenged like I didn't know what I was talking about lol. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, Tokous said:

I'd ask him exactly where it says this, perhaps you can educate us all sincerely. Initially what jumped out to me was the whole cohesion thing, but I don't see anywhere that says the entire army needs to be deployed on the same elevation. Personally, I never heard of it and would've challenged his authority as the judge to confirm this beyond say so. As a official judge in other games, I always had print outs, laptop, etc so I could prove I wasn't making up stuff if ever challenged like I didn't know what I was talking about lol. 

Yeah I'll be sure to. I believe he mentioned an email and explained as an issue with Pathfinders infiltrate ability.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"I heard it from Alexy Davy (legion designer) on a podcast. It was more a clarification so it might not have been put into the rules book yet."

"Probably has more to do witb terrain not suppoed to be in the deplyment zones to begin with"

my friends response to me from FB

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 minutes ago, EagleScoutof007 said:

"I heard it from Alexy Davy (legion designer) on a podcast. It was more a clarification so it might not have been put into the rules book yet."

Oh man, that’s dicey... This wouldn’t have been the first time someone misheard or misinterpreted something said on a podcast. It’s really not a good idea to use these things as rules sources for multiple reasons.

He’s going to have to either find the exact episode and timestamp or (easier) just email the dev team directly through the rules submission form and ask about it. His claim definitely doesn’t exist in writing anywhere...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, EagleScoutof007 said:

"Probably has more to do witb terrain not suppoed to be in the deplyment zones to begin with"

I can say with good confidence that at least this statement is bantha poodoo. Considering all possible deployment zones leaves us with only 1/3 of space that is in no deployment zone. If we follow the rule of 1/4 of space covered with terrain, every table would have a very dense pile of terrain in the center and a lot of free space everywhere else ...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/14/2019 at 10:26 PM, EagleScoutof007 said:

"I heard it from Alexy Davy (legion designer) on a podcast. It was more a clarification so it might not have been put into the rules book yet."

"Probably has more to do witb terrain not suppoed to be in the deplyment zones to begin with"

my friends response to me from FB

Woof, this flat out wrong.

You place terrain before defining the battlefield, i.e. before you select the deployment, condition, objective card.

Your friend needs to spend some time with the rules documents.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, TalkPolite said:

Why wouldn’t you want terrain in the deployment zone? 

Yeah, he seriously misunderstood something. Tell him to report to the rear for “retraining” 

I'll talk to him about this more on Friday during game night. I think next time I'll ask him to point out rules in the RRG not a podcast. Maybe I'll get the timestamp where he hear it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I keep a copy of the RRG printed out in a binder that I take to games.  I've found it generally helps to actually check the rules during a game and to have a physical copy people can look through (rather than scrolling through it on their phones.)  It helps keep made up rules like this from entering the game. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Talking with another player at my FLGS we think he got confused with the cohesion. For this specific match it didn't really affect our game. I think my group needs to discuss ruling a little bit more. The league that our TO is running is thematic and built by him. One of the list options allows Chewy to be a commander. It's fun though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...