Jump to content
TalkPolite

Hello there! Spoiled Obi-Wan card at Celebration

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, thepopemobile100 said:

I wonder if anything else is going to get spoiled at the celebration?

 

1 hour ago, RStan said:

I assume since that's the only picture posted, that there's no Grievous card :( 

FFG didn't specifically spoil the Obi-Wan card - it's just in the image on the back of the box for the Clone Wars core box. The box is on display in one of the cases.

If they specifically spoil something, it will almost certainly be during their panel on Saturday.

Edited by Dr Lucky
Typo correction

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, TalkPolite said:

Luke surges so he’s probably better. Crit 2 does help with that but, Obi seems to be very defensive compared to Luke. 

Obi converts up to 2 surges to crits and there's about only about a 0.2% chance of rolling more than 2 crits. It's effectively the same.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

6 hours ago, JediPartisan said:

Yeah, just like Vader, Saber Throw might as well be stapled to his card.😁

Nah, he's as fast as Luke and doesn't have Relentless. You need to be focusing on keeping him alive and getting into melee, not throwing weak short-ranged attacks.

5 hours ago, JediPartisan said:

The card on the right, just below Obi’s unit card is Force Guidance. The only thing is Hope is not listed in the upgrade card expansion pack that was supposed to contain all upgrade cards that came with the CW Core set.

I don't think that was explicitly stated anywhere, was it? I think it was just what everyone hopes is the case.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
7 minutes ago, arnoldrew said:

don't think that was explicitly stated anywhere, was it? I think it was just what everyone hopes is the case.

I mean assuming it is a picture of Luke it would be a touch silly to have it in the Clone Wars Core and not the card pack that has almost-all of the Clone Wars Core’s new generic upgrades in it?

But if that happens to be the case I’d just take it as a good sign that you can expect another Rebel Jedi soon, presumably Ezra or Kanan (I’d guess the former but prefer the latter 😜)

And another thought: if it’s light-side only then maybe it’s not considered generic enough to be in the card pack, which is designed for Rebel and Imperial players equally?

Edited by SpiderMana

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, SpiderMana said:

I mean assuming it is a picture of Luke it would be a touch silly to have it in the Clone Wars Core and not the card pack that has almost-all of the Clone Wars Core’s new generic upgrades in it?

But if that happens to be the case I’d just take it as a good sign that you can expect another Rebel Jedi soon, presumably Ezra or Kanan (I’d guess the former but prefer the latter 😜)

And another thought: if it’s light-side only then maybe it’s not considered generic enough to be in the card pack, which is designed for Rebel and Imperial players equally?

It could be Republic-only, but again as you said it would be kind of weird for Luke to be on it in that case.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, arnoldrew said:

It could be Republic-only, but again as you said it would be kind of weird for Luke to be on it in that case.

No, I mean, I wouldn’t expect an upgrade called Hope to not be useable by Rebels, for sure. But it also doesn’t sound like something Vader could equip.

So maybe the card pack is just cards that every faction can use, whereas a card only useful to Republic and Rebels wouldn’t show up in the pack.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 minutes ago, SpiderMana said:

No, I mean, I wouldn’t expect an upgrade called Hope to not be useable by Rebels, for sure. But it also doesn’t sound like something Vader could equip.

So maybe the card pack is just cards that every faction can use, whereas a card only useful to Republic and Rebels wouldn’t show up in the pack.

I hadn’t realized, but they do state, “Bringing together sixty neutral upgrade cards originally found in expansions through the Clone Wars Core Set...”.

So there are probably one or two light side cards that are not included in the card pack. There probably won’t be any extra dark side cards though, since Grievous cannot use them. He can’t even use Saber Throw, good thing he’s packing a pistol. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
22 minutes ago, Divad said:

Has anyone pointed out the subtitle yet:

Obi-Wan Kenobi

Civilized Warrior

Better than "Doesn't like flying". 

 

...

...

...

There better be Grievous spoilers coming soon! :D

Edited by Polda

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All this hand wringing about a card that is obviously fake.  That is not Obi Wan's real Legion card,  someone must have cobbled it together and "leaked" it as a late April fools joke.  If you look at it closely you'll clearly see that it is missing the key word: HIGH GROUND!

😂

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Chili-52 said:

All this hand wringing about a card that is obviously fake.  That is not Obi Wan's real Legion card,  someone must have cobbled it together and "leaked" it as a late April fools joke.  If you look at it closely you'll clearly see that it is missing the key word: HIGH GROUND!

😂

It's a training upgrade. Anakin won't have a training slot. He will, however get bonus dice against younglings. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 hours ago, JediPartisan said:

Yeah but then you’re using a more expensive unit to protect a less expensive.

So what we need are characters that are primarily non combatants, such as Duchess Satine, Nute Gunray, etc.   An escort objective would be ideal.  

Also, Obi-wan has a good chance of defending against a block, so it is a fair trade.   

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
18 minutes ago, That Blasted Samophlange said:

Did I miss it in the thread, or currently as we understand the rules, Obi-Wan can deflect sniper shots..  they are immune to deflect, not immune Soresu Mastery..

As I read it, yes. Snipers are not immune to deflect inherently - they prevent the defender from spending dodge tokens if they are the only attacker.

Guardians are not the defender.

Obi can deflect a shot he guardians. He cannot deflect a shot that he is the defender. At least, that’s how I read it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
19 minutes ago, edmund_pevensie said:

High Velocity just applies to the Apply Dodge and Cover step, Guardian is applied later, so it seems like it could be used against snipers.

The other side of that is that because dodge and cover have already been applied when guardian activates, Kenobi can't spend a dodge to gain his deflect.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 minutes ago, thepopemobile100 said:

The other side of that is that because dodge and cover have already been applied when guardian activates, Kenobi can't spend a dodge to gain his deflect.

I've been trying to ask about this myself. doesn't seem right. I think we're going to get a change on when guardian kicks in for this reason. However, if you moved guardian up to be able to use dodge tokens, then Royal Guard could spend a dodge token after choosing to take some hits. seems good. Seems too good if leia can throw out a dodge token to chewie, then chewie can spend in while using guardian. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
18 minutes ago, thepopemobile100 said:

The other side of that is that because dodge and cover have already been applied when guardian activates, Kenobi can't spend a dodge to gain his deflect.

The text on the card seems to indicate that he would be able to spend a dodge when he's using Guardian.

"While defending or using Guardian, if you spend a dodge token"

I don't think dodges can be applied during Guardian normally, so maybe this is an exception for the Soresu Mastery keyword.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, edmund_pevensie said:

The text on the card seems to indicate that he would be able to spend a dodge when he's using Guardian.

"While defending or using Guardian, if you spend a dodge token"

I don't think dodges can be applied during Guardian normally, so maybe this is an exception for the Soresu Mastery keyword.

I'm in agreement here that Kenobi will in all likelihood be able to spend dodges with his guardian, but I'm not sold on spending them against high velocity shots. With pierce the attacker decided who took the effect of pierce with guardian so it stands to reason for me that high velocity will be no different.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...