Jump to content
arnoldrew

Driving the bus backwards

Recommended Posts

Page 32 of the RRG says (under Embark and Disembark)

When a unit disembarks, if the vehicle that is transporting
that unit has performed more than one standard move
during the current round, disembarking uses that unit’s
entire activation and it cannot perform additional actions or
any free actions

Page 42 of the RRG (under Movement) says:

The primary way that units move is by performing a move
action. When a unit performs a move action, it performs a
standard move, reverse, pivot, climb, or clamber.

So a reverse is not a standard move. Therefore, a GOCAT could deploy butt-towards-enemy, reverse twice (going the same speed it does going forward {page 52 under Reverse}), and then when the unit it is carrying activates they can disembark and then perform their standard action. Am I missing anything?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, arnoldrew said:

Page 32 of the RRG says (under Embark and Disembark)

When a unit disembarks, if the vehicle that is transporting
that unit has performed more than one standard move
during the current round, disembarking uses that unit’s
entire activation and it cannot perform additional actions or
any free actions

Page 42 of the RRG (under Movement) says:

The primary way that units move is by performing a move
action. When a unit performs a move action, it performs a
standard move, reverse, pivot, climb, or clamber.

So a reverse is not a standard move. Therefore, a GOCAT could deploy butt-towards-enemy, reverse twice (going the same speed it does going forward {page 52 under Reverse}), and then when the unit it is carrying activates they can disembark and then perform their standard action. Am I missing anything?

you know you weren't suppose to leak this right :-D.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 hours ago, arnoldrew said:

Page 32 of the RRG says (under Embark and Disembark)

When a unit disembarks, if the vehicle that is transporting
that unit has performed more than one standard move
during the current round, disembarking uses that unit’s
entire activation and it cannot perform additional actions or
any free actions

Page 42 of the RRG (under Movement) says:

The primary way that units move is by performing a move
action. When a unit performs a move action, it performs a
standard move, reverse, pivot, climb, or clamber.

So a reverse is not a standard move. Therefore, a GOCAT could deploy butt-towards-enemy, reverse twice (going the same speed it does going forward {page 52 under Reverse}), and then when the unit it is carrying activates they can disembark and then perform their standard action. Am I missing anything?

Seems like a really expensive way to get a unit across the battlefield.  It also pretty much prevents you from meaningfully ever using the Fixed: Front weapons and is pretty clearly a shenanigan, so I'd expect it to be locked out at some point.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, KrisWall said:

Seems like a really expensive way to get a unit across the battlefield.  It also pretty much prevents you from meaningfully ever using the Fixed: Front weapons and is pretty clearly a shenanigan, so I'd expect it to be locked out at some point.

I anticipate it will be corrected at some point. Fixed: Front is not nearly as much of a negative here as people may initially think. If you’re double-moving, you weren’t using your guns that turn anyway. And with the free pivot before or after moving next turn, you have 180-degrees of rotation to get your guns where they need to be. Of course, it depends on having enough room to maneuver.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/7/2019 at 10:28 PM, arnoldrew said:

Am I missing anything?

A conscience?

 

I kid :)  That is a good rules wording  catch.  Getting this out in open now will spare FFG the need to create a Rearview Mirror upgrade card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...