Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
TheBlindSamurai

Question About Rank 0 Skill Rolls

Recommended Posts

Hello, I have a question concerning school skills and the Rank 0 indicator.

How can a player strike an opponent or defend themselves if they, say, don't have the Me;ee Combat skill, or how can they roll for initiative without a Tactics roll, etc...

Are players who have a 0 in a Skill allowed to JUST roll their Ring Die and take whatever comes up, or do they need to be Rank 0 in their School Skills only?

EXAMPLE: Somebody making a Bushi does not pick Tactics as one of their School Skills, but it is still one of their school skills, they just don't have a +1 in it. They can make a Rank 0 roll with that however they cannot make a Rank 0 roll in, say, Government, since that was not part of their creation options?

I guess I just don't want to tell players at creation 'you may seem like you have an option here to not pick X skill, but because you'll need it for certain rolls, you HAVE to pick it.' 

How do you handle this kind of things, and the Rank 0 skill, etc...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When you assemble your dice pool, you add as many white dice as your skill rank.
If you have 0 rank, you add 0 white dice.

 

50 minutes ago, TheBlindSamurai said:

Are players who have a 0 in a Skill allowed to JUST roll their Ring Die and take whatever comes up, 

Careful, here.
You keep UP TO your ring value (minimum 1)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, that's important to remember. You have to keep a minimum of one die, but you don't have to keep all the dice you can - this can avoid situations where like, you get a lot of Strife symbols attached to stuff you're not planning on using. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

At a GMs discretion/option you might not get to roll on some "things" unless you have ranks in a skill ... but this should be very rare.

I'm thinking about something like a roll to recall some obscure and/or censored bit of history. Usually something like that might be covered by culture or maybe theology (or commerce or even skullduggery). If you have zero skill ranks in ALL the skills that the judge thinks might form a basis for knowing that little bit of "disavowed trivia" then the GM might require you to justify how you could have that piece of knowledge before you make a roll with your Ring dice, or even say you can't attempt the roll. (Could be a hook for a future adventure to find that information from someone who knows something).

Again. A rare circumstance probably most appropriate for knowledge skills. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/4/2019 at 10:23 PM, nameless ronin said:

In this edition you never need ranks in something to be able to roll for it. School skill or not doesn't matter either. You just assemble a dice pool and roll, if you only have ring dice in the pool so be it.

Indeed. And remember that the ring dice still has an explosive success on it. Theoretically, even an unskilled samurai using an approach for which they have a ring rank of '1' can still succeed at a task of any TN. 

The odds are ridiculously infinitesimal and you'll probably be instantly compromised if you manage it, but the chance is there. That's a deliberate element since it occasionally lets a character pull off an unexpected moment of awesome, and it means no-one is ever completely unable to contribute in a given scene.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/8/2019 at 12:36 AM, Magnus Grendel said:

Indeed. And remember that the ring dice still has an explosive success on it. Theoretically, even an unskilled samurai using an approach for which they have a ring rank of '1' can still succeed at a task of any TN. 

The odds are ridiculously infinitesimal and you'll probably be instantly compromised if you manage it, but the chance is there. That's a deliberate element since it occasionally lets a character pull off an unexpected moment of awesome, and it means no-one is ever completely unable to contribute in a given scene.

The drawback is that awesome happens a good bit too often for some. The odds of open ending are the same on either die, but the strife penalty isn't...
 

I've seen unassisted 12+ success on r4s2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, AK_Aramis said:

I've seen unassisted 12+ success on r4s2

Sure,

But not all rolls benefit from bonus successes...

On a lot of rolls 12 successes is exactly as good as the two successes you needed to meet the TN,

But the 10 or so strife you likely accumulated make it a lot worse than just taking the bare minimum number of successes

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, gareth_lazelle said:

Sure,

But not all rolls benefit from bonus successes...

On a lot of rolls 12 successes is exactly as good as the two successes you needed to meet the TN,

But the 10 or so strife you likely accumulated make it a lot worse than just taking the bare minimum number of successes

There are definitely things I dislike about the strife mechanics and even about some aspects of opportunities, but this is the main advantage they bring to the system. R&K is great, but the risk/reward aspect of previous editions doesn't always come across as very elegant: massive overrolls are just good luck gone to waste and while pushing your luck can be fun, repeated failure through unfortunate rolls even when you're conservative with raises can be offputting. Moving raises (pre-roll decisions) to opportunities (post-roll decisions) removes the gamble, but that's not too bad since it's still a roll of the dice which means there's an inherent risk (even if I'd have liked the system to scale a bit more with regards to success/failure) and it lets the player make the most of a great roll. The addition of strife makes sure the opportunities don't get out of hand. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
On 4/9/2019 at 3:15 PM, gareth_lazelle said:

Sure,

But not all rolls benefit from bonus successes...

On a lot of rolls 12 successes is exactly as good as the two successes you needed to meet the TN,

But the 10 or so strife you likely accumulated make it a lot worse than just taking the bare minimum number of successes

True. But you're not forced to keep extra results from resolving  1521230551_ExplosiveSuccessSmall.png.2cc :

After rolling a die this way, the player chooses whether it will be kept (on top of their current results) or dropped.

If you've already got enough 1521230551_ExplosiveSuccessSmall.png.2cc and 792424631_SuccessSmall.png.f580b7641c8c8 to pass, bonus successes don't matter, and the new result has 1518491343_StrifeSmall.png.6434e11e967f0  on it, you can safely drop it (unless it also has 1211841275_OpportunitySmall.png.acf41343 that you want, I guess)

Edited by Magnus Grendel

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...