Sign in to follow this  
elanmorintedronai

Jeebus's Worlds Report

Posted (edited)

Hiya, everybody! Elan Morin Tedro reporting in with my Worlds report. Some of you folks may know me as Jeebus on the Discord or Kyle in real life. I’m a grad student based in the Land of Cheese (Wisconsin) who started playing Armada in March 2018 and made the trip down to Adepticon for my first proper tournament at Worlds. Madison has a small, but strong miniatures gaming community- my most frequent opponent made top 16 at Worlds last year and we have the Runewars (RIP) World Champion- so I wanted to test my mettle against the wider world of Armada players.

Locally, I’m known for a few things: my love of Admiral Ackbar and large-based ships, my pathological hatred of the Assault Potato MkII, and my tendency to run either max squads or zero squads, with rarely anything in between. Most of us hadn’t been playing much Armada for a few months before Worlds due to the lack of news, so I knew I would need to run a list I knew how to fly and wouldn’t need much practice for.

As a result, I took a modified version of the list that won me our (small) store championship. Overall, I did better than I expected- making it to day 2 and placing 36th overall despite dropping before my final game. There had been a last-minute drop, I wasn’t going to get top 16, and wanted a chance to check out the vendor hall, so I dropped to even out the player count, get my challenge coin, and ogle the SSD.

Enter: The Fish-Man and His Wife