Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Cleto0

Lando Questions

Recommended Posts

A couple of questions for y'all about lando:

1. Can you run lando with han as they both have the falcon as their ship? 

 

2. Can you spend Jan tokens when Lando is on defense to activate his ability?

3. does cancelling or removing a die count as a modification to that die?

Thanks!

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

1. From what is known (although still not OFFICIAL until the actual release of the product)
The answer is yes, you can have both Han and Lando Squadrons.

2. For reference 

Jan Ors
"While a friendly squadron at distance 1-2 is defending, it can spend your defense tokens."

 

Lando Calrissian

"While attacking, you may discard a defense token to set 1 die to any face. That die cannot be modified again."

"While defending you may spend 1 of your defense tokens to force the attacker to reroll 1 or more dice of your choice.

Very cut and dry.

His 1st part to his ability is ONLY while attacking. Not defending. So no, he cannot use Jans tokens.

2nd part to his ability. Again, cut and dry, it very much states and specifies that Lando must spend one of HIS defense tokens, Not someone else's.

But also remember, you can only spend one defense token of any type, period, in the defense token step. You cannot spend two braces. Thus, you would need to decide if you wanted to spend for the reroll, or spend for the bracing effect. Jan can help keep Lando alive longer for sure. Because Lando can use his braces offensively (if they are discarded), and Jan can help cover him when he gets attacked. (by bracing damage)


3. Cancelling (such as scatter, evade) and removing (such as Brunson or, Admo) a die DOES count as Modifying that die. Check Rules Reference "Modifying Dice"
This means if Lando uses his ability on one of his dice, IT CANNOT be modified again.

Edited by Karneck

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, Karneck said:

3. Cancelling (such as scatter) and removing (such as Bruson or Evade) a die DOES count as Modifying that die. Check Rules Reference "Modifying Dice"
This means if Lando uses his ability on one of his dice, IT CANNOT be modified again.

so you are telling me that he prevents scatter just by using his ability? can scatter still take effect on the other dice in the pool or since it effects the whole pool, it can't do its ability?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

He doesn't prevent the use of scatter. Scatter will still remove all the rest of the dice in his attack pool. Just not the one he modified by discarding a brace defense token.

Edited by Karneck

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, Karneck said:

"While defending you may spend 1 of your defense tokens to force the attacker to reroll 1 or more dice of your choice.

 

4 minutes ago, Karneck said:

"While a friendly squadron at distance 1-2 is defending, it can spend your defense tokens."

are you positive these do not interact? I don't know how "your" works. because lando could potentially spend jan on defense. Obliviously not on the attack, but that was not what I asked.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Karneck said:

He doesn't prevent the use of scatter. Scatter will still remove all the rest of the dice in his attack pool. Just not the one he modified by spending a brace defense token.

 "The defender cancels all attack dice." 

...

It seems like either scatter works or does not work. I doubt that scatter would let his red double hit through. also he can just change the red/blue to a acc to get rid of scatter aces easily.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Your is very word specific in this case.

Lando's card SPECIFICALLY states you must spend YOUR (as in, HIS) defense tokens. Not Jans.

Lando doesn't OWN Jan's tokens, he may spend her defense token for it's usual effect. Jan doesn't have Landos wording on it.

Lando gains his effect if he uses his own token, and only Jans effect (just the typical brace) if you use hers.

  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
3 minutes ago, Cleto0 said:

 "The defender cancels all attack dice." 

...

It seems like either scatter works or does not work. I doubt that scatter would let his red double hit through. also he can just change the red/blue to a acc to get rid of scatter aces easily.

 

You are incorrect. Please read  Rules Reference "Modifying Dice"

 

 

Quote

 

Dice can be modified in the following ways by game effects:

Reroll: When a die is rerolled, the attacker picks it up and rolls it again. A die can be rerolled multiple times.

Add: When a die is added, roll an unused die of the appropriate color into the attack pool.

Change: When a die is changed, rotate it to display the indicated face.

Spend: When a die or die icon is spent, remove that die from the attack pool.

Cancel: When a die or die icon is canceled, remove it from the attack pool.

 

As you can see, canceling a dice is still modifying that dice. As written, in the rules.

Edited by Karneck

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Landos ability IS a powerful one, but he can ONLY do it twice. So you shouldn't do it unless you know for certain the gains of doing so are worth the discarding of your defense token.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 hours ago, Cleto0 said:

 "The defender cancels all attack dice." 

...

It seems like either scatter works or does not work. I doubt that scatter would let his red double hit through. also he can just change the red/blue to a acc to get rid of scatter aces easily.

 

I don't think the effect itself serves as a prerequisite for applying that effect. Just because you can't cancel ALL dice doesn't mean you can't cancel ANY dice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, RobertK said:

I don't think the effect itself serves as a prerequisite for applying that effect. Just because you can't cancel ALL dice doesn't mean you can't cancel ANY dice.

Cancel is inherently a dice-by-dice thing..  Although with scatter, you cancel them all, you individually cancel each of them.  This is the only way the rules tell you to cancel dice.   This is per "Modify Dice" in the RRG.

 

So the Lando changed Die will remain un-cancelled (as it cannot be modified further), but all other Dice will be scattered and cancelled around it.

 

Edited by Drasnighta

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, RobertK said:

I don't think the effect itself serves as a prerequisite for applying that effect. Just because you can't cancel ALL dice doesn't mean you can't cancel ANY dice.


True, but RAW Scatter does not say "You may cancel one or more dice," it says you (must) "cancel all dice," which becomes impossible to do if Lando used his ability.  So, Scatter cannot be used at all.

There have been (old) similar precedences in X-WING where forcing the opponent to reroll one of their dice has then prevented them from using abilities that would reroll all of their dice (because in XW no die can be rerolled more than once).

Now, how will FFG officially rule this at an event or an FAQ?  *shrug*

Edited by AllWingsStandyingBy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...