Sign in to follow this  
Victarion13

Topaz championship doubt and expirience

Hello everyone,

I just started a new Topaz championship with totally newbie players (for that I choose to run at first this module). And it is my first time as a master (in L5R), so I would like to know your experience, and ask a couple of things.

My players made their own characters, and everyone is happy with it.

And then the tournament started...  after the first day only one character got some point (some is not the right word, he got 10 points already!), but the others: they are in the same situation as Hitoshi! (1 point). Anyone had some of this kind of experience? How did you handle this? I would love all my players to pass their gempukku, so I am thinking about low the TN in some other challenge, but not I am not sure yet. If someone had similar experience, and what have you done in that case? Also they manage to help Kitsu and she got point in Sumai, so Kitsu was trying to give them back some advice, but it was not useful (bad luck with dice of course).

Second question, also for know more about your experience and what have you done. My players would like to let Hitoshi or Kitsu win the tournament. The problem is Hitoshi: he will get a big injury (probably) because of Kakita, and all the scorpion plot. Do you think I can let them have some courtesy or other roll for make Toshimoko to think twice about "the show must go on"?

Thank you for all your replies. And sorry for my English.

It might help to know what helped that 1 player get the 10 points and which contest.  that player may have just overspecialized and the other players might have the same issue in other challenges.