azavander

Sprues Advantages/Disadvantages

As a new player to war games, Legion being the first, and WotC being my first plasti-crack addiction, I’m not familiar with the advantages or disadvantages of figures shipping on sprues.  Painting diffrences?

I assume that is when they are attached to a grey spine you have to snip them off? 

Since I doubt I am the only noob here thought I would start the topic.

Posted (edited)

Harder sprue plastics are also less likely to warp or be damaged by temperature, but can be more susceptible to fall damage from my experience.

A few suggestions which are  to clip a bit back from the connection, use an xacto to scrape the plastic flat and use a fine sanding stick or file to smooth. I'd recommend just looking on youtube for "model sprue removal" and you should find plenty of videos. I've been through the gauntlet of learning without that help so hopefully you won't have as much trouble or ruined bits as I did when I started. :D If you do mess up though keep the bits for projects like Jedhead mentioned; a damaged weapon for instance can make great basing details.

Edited by Tealadin

2 hours ago, azavander said:

As a new player to war games, Legion being the first, and WotC being my first plasti-crack addiction, I’m not familiar with the advantages or disadvantages of figures shipping on sprues.  Painting diffrences?

I assume that is when they are attached to a grey spine you have to snip them off? 

Since I doubt I am the only noob here thought I would start the topic.

First of all, welcome to the hobby. Second, if you meet a seedy looking guy who tells you that you can say no to Warhammer whenever you want, run away. Fast.

Did I miss an announcement somewhere that FF will start using sprues soon? BTW, the posts above are spot on.

6 minutes ago, Sharkbelly said:

First of all, welcome to the hobby. Second, if you meet a seedy looking guy who tells you that you can say no to Warhammer whenever you want, run away. Fast.