Jump to content
The MechE

Question on Andira Runehand's ability

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

 

3 hours ago, Hawkman67609er said:

I have not been ignoring any feedback I am taking it all in, understanding it, and their point of view. Words are being inserted or changed from what they really are.  There have been many arguments of people to me reading off that defense dice are rolled “against” an attack or damage “from” attacks but it says “during an attack.” And many other examples like introducing the difference between “damage suffered”and “damage taken” but it says “damage” and damage is damage.  Reflective ward does in fact also strongly elude that the attacker can role a defense dice, not just the defender.

The rule book states that "the attacking player adds up all of the [Heart] results on the dice to determine how much damage is dealt by this attack." Thus, in step 2, an attack result is created that consists of the number of surges and the number of hearts rolled. This attack result can be further modified in subsequent steps of the attack (e.g. in step 4, Spend surges). Finally, in step 5, the damage component (hearts) of the attack result is used to calculate the damage dealt to the affected figure(s).

Quote

I have not been ignoring any feedback I am taking it all in, understanding it, and their point of view. 

Sorry, but this is not a matter of "point of view" in the sense of equally valid positions. The answers that you received in this thread are backed up by quotes from FFG representatives, official rules and FAQ. You can of course use different house rules in your group, however be prepared that you will likely run into a lot of problems.  

Quote

I find it very interesting the point brought up if damage does in fact trigger after the entire attack action and you down the hero with your damage and there is no longer a hero there to trigger the aura does it still trigger?

I assume that your "aura" refers to Andira Runehand's Hero ability. The answer is "usually Andira's Hero ability does not trigger if she is defeated". There are 2 conflicting effects here that trigger off the same condition if Andira suffers damage equal to her Health: "when a hero suffers damage". These effects are:
1) When a hero suffers damage equal to its Health, it is immediately defeated.
2) Each time a hero within 3 spaces of you suffers 1 or more [Heart] from an attack, the figure that performed the attack suffers 1 [Heart].

The Golden Rule states that these kinds of timing conflicts are resolved by the active player. When a monster attacks Andira, the active player is most likely the overlord and he will usually choose to resolve 1) first. When being defeated Andira is removed from the map and her Hero abiliy cannot trigger anymore.

The current rule-set of Descent is fairly complex and scattered over many rule books, FAQ documents and websites. That's why I created the CRRG in the first place some time ago. It includes only rules and clarifications from  the official rule books, official FAQ and quotes from FFG employees (unofficial FAQ), and represents the most comprehensive document of this type around at the moment. It does not include any rule interpretations, house rules etc.
I cannot exclude that it still contains errors. However, most of those have been weeded out after 13 versions. You can get it from here:

https://descent-community.org/index.php/crrg/        

I advise you to refer to the CRRG first, if you have any further rule questions.

Edited by Sadgit

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, Sadgit said:

I advise you to refer to the CRRG first, if you have any further rule questions.

I can't agree with this enough.

Active forum members @Sadgit, @Zaltyre, and myself, along with several others that my poor memory permits me to forget (😂) , have put countless hours into generating, proof reading, etc. a LIVING document (the CRRG) for the benefit of the entire community.

This document has become the defacto standard for rules answers, especially in the light of the fact that FFG has significantly tapered off any of their efforts in the past few years.  In addition, these same individuals have been with this game since the beginning, have been active members on the forum, have interacted to a great degree with FFG personnel in the past in getting answers to community questions, have collated those questions and answers, have pushed back to FFG when there were conflicts with previous rulings, etc.

You can't possibly compare an original manual from 2012 to where things stand today.  The game changes, the rules change, as new rulings are made to take into account new assets.

Despite all of this, and despite what you claim @Hawkman67609er, your responses to input from these individuals has been very dismissive.

As I stated before, you are obviously free to rule any way you wish when you play, especially if it provides you greater enjoyment.  But if you do want to play by the generally accepted correct rules, I highly suggested you read the CRRG and digest what it has to say.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you Sadgut for bringing up that I was using wording for 2012 descent rulebook, when I went to google I just typed in descent rulebook pdf and assumed it would be the most up to date.  The 2015 wording is much better and it makes a little bit more sense.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Edit: Welp, I was wrong. Apparently there is no difference between damage dealt and damage suffered. It's just a matter of perspective.

1. No defense roll for Andira's ability though. Andira's ability mentions the figure that "performed" the attack suffers 1 damage (**as in the attack is already finished**). Not the figure that "is performing" the attack suffers 1 damage (**as in the attack is still going**).

2. Reflective ward on the other hand takes place during the attack, so that's why defense dice are rolled.

Reflective ward: "Play this card when a hero attacks a monster, before rolling dice (**as in reflective ward takes place during the attack**). The attacking hero may choose to suffer 2 fatigue. If he cannot suffer the fatigue, or chooses not to, he will be dealt damage equal to the damage dealt to the monster."

3. You don't roll defense dice for shared pain. The part of shared pain that affects other monsters in the monster group doesn't take place until the attack is over and damage has been calculated and dealt.

Shared pain: "Perform an attack (**as in this is the first thing you do. You finish your attack action first**). If you deal at least 1 damage (after rolling defense dice), each other figure in the target's monster group suffers 1 damage."

For reference, what helped us figure this out was just looking at how combat normally took place and when damage was dealt, etc.

1.JPG

 

 

Edited by The MechE

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...