Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Bayushi Shunsuke

[Ruling] Finger of Jade & Covert

Recommended Posts

Finger of Jade says: "Interrupt: When the effects of a card ability that targets attached character would initiate, sacrifice this attachment – cancel those effects."

Note that Finger of Jade says "card ability", not "triggered ability", like Shiba Yojimbo for example. Covert is a keyword ability that targets a character.

Can Finger of Jade be sacrificed to cancel covert?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Bayushi Shunsuke said:

Finger of Jade says: "Interrupt: When the effects of a card ability that targets attached character would initiate, sacrifice this attachment – cancel those effects."

Note that Finger of Jade says "card ability", not "triggered ability", like Shiba Yojimbo for example. Covert is a keyword ability that targets a character.

Can Finger of Jade be sacrificed to cancel covert?

A “card ability” includes: actions, constant abilities, interrupts, keywords, and reactions (RRG pg 2). Since Covert is one of those things, and it has both an initiation point and it targets, you would be able to use Finger of Jade to cancel Covert.

[Tyler Parrott, 14.11.2017]

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Are Covert targets chosen simultaneously and resolved simultaneously or sequentially? For example, if Player A is attacking with two Covert characters and Player B has a character with Finger of Jade, can Player A use one Covert and see if the Finger is used in response before declaring the second, or must both be declared at the same time?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Bayushi Shunsuke said:

Are Covert targets chosen simultaneously and resolved simultaneously or sequentially? For example, if Player A is attacking with two Covert characters and Player B has a character with Finger of Jade, can Player A use one Covert and see if the Finger is used in response before declaring the second, or must both be declared at the same time?

All instances of covert must be chosen before Finger of Jade can interrupt to cancel one of them.

[Tyler Parrott, Mar 8 2019]

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So is it valid to choose the same target for two Covert?

One of my friends told me "Multiple instances of covert won't stack if you're trying to double covert someone to break a finger of jade. The covert keyword let's you choose one of your opponents characters for each character you declare with the keyword. All characters are coverted simultaneously and a character is considered coverted or not coverted. "

I am confused now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, tanx0_0 said:

So is it valid to choose the same target for two Covert?

One of my friends told me "Multiple instances of covert won't stack if you're trying to double covert someone to break a finger of jade. The covert keyword let's you choose one of your opponents characters for each character you declare with the keyword. All characters are coverted simultaneously and a character is considered coverted or not coverted. "

I am confused now.

Yes you can choose the same character twice to bypass a finger of jade, all declarations are considered to occur simultaneously

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...