Jump to content
Sarcon

Energy Shells wording

Recommended Posts

On 4/1/2019 at 4:15 AM, Magnus Grendel said:

Plus, with Target Lock ordnance, you have the option to spend your lock and someone else's calculate (via Networked Calculations) for double-modified attacks. Massed Trade Federation Drones with Cluster Missiles might be interesting. 

Experienced this tonite.  it was not pleasant.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just throwing this in the hat to get some feedback:

 

People are arguing the fact that it is an "action" to reload the card and not a "reload action" due to FFG not using the reload symbol and arguing that it is the cards abillity to allow an action to reload and not to perform a reload action.

The fact that it states in the RR "If an ability instructs a player to reload, this is different than performing a (Reload Symbol) action" this has coused people to see the card as giving you the abillity of reloading for the cost of an action and not to perform a reload action.

In th RR under "Golden Rules" parragraph 2 "If the ability of a card conflicts with the rules in this guide, the card ability takes precedence" then look at "Abilities" paying costs "For example, GNK “Gonk” Droid’s ability says “Action: Spend 1 (Charge Symbol) to recover 1 shield.” This denotes that the cards action is an ability and the card overrules

 the RR for reloading and it does not state that you receive a disarm token on the card.

It feels like this is true and you would not get the disarm token when I feel that FFG wanted you to get one.

I think FFG should ask all of their play testers to give their oppinoin on what they think the card means and then when they have over a 90% agreement on the meaning of the card they then, and only then, should print the card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i agree with you @Dubtastic, how ever, it's not a reload action, it's an action for a reload effect.

compare to gonk or bomblet generator. reloading is an effect described under Reload in the RR. all the steps have to be followed, except you can't choose another card to reload, since that's what energy shell charges state.

the description for reloading in the RR does state that you recieve a disarm token.

all actions in the game state that the effect of the action is not the same as performing the action in the last paragraph of their description. this is to let you perform that action again during that round, even though you might have benefited from the effect. it's design space.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd ask again: if you're not following the Reload action process... what are you doing?  The card doesn't say to recover a charge, so you definitely shouldn't be doing that - unless you're following the Reload process, and in that instance, waht's your justification for only following part of it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Dubtastic said:

In th RR under "Golden Rules" parragraph 2 "If the ability of a card conflicts with the rules in this guide, the card ability takes precedence" then look at "Abilities" paying costs "For example, GNK “Gonk” Droid’s ability says “Action: Spend 1 (Charge Symbol) to recover 1 shield.” This denotes that the cards action is an ability and the card overrules

 the RR for reloading and it does not state that you receive a disarm token on the card.

Gonk also has  "Action: Recover 1 <charge>".  If ESC was meant to work this way (without getting the WD token) then that's how it would be worded.

Think of it this way.  There is a rule for what "recover" means, so an action can say recover and we know what to do.  If you are ignoring the Reload action text there isn't anything else telling you what to do when you get the "Action: Reload" text on a card.

Edit: adding for reference.  Under "Charge" in the RR:

When an effect instructs a ship to recover a charge, an inactive charge
on that ship (ship or upgrade card) is flipped to its active side. A card
cannot recover a charge if all of its charges are on their active side.

There is nothing about Reload under the Charge rules.

Edited by papy72

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/3/2019 at 1:49 AM, Magnus Grendel said:

Any particular observations? What was the squad?

I3 Drones 4 with cluster and struts 2 with Energy Charges and Struts.  I did better second time around by getting to knife fight range and blocking.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...