Jump to content
Digimortal

Guardian & Engaged

Recommended Posts

Hi All, I wanted to clarify something, I assume that when a unit is engaged it can no longer utilise it's Guardian ability based on the following line from the RRG:

"While a trooper unit is in a melee with another trooper unit, those units are engaged. A unit that is engaged cannot perform moves, cannot be displaced, cannot perform ranged attacks, and cannot be targeted by ranged attacks, except from area weapons."

So, in theory, a unit could lock down Chewbacca in melee and then pound on a nearby Han or Leia without worrying about the protection he offers?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Nothing in the entry for Guardian in the RRG says that the unit attempting to use Guardian has to be eligible as a target for a ranged attack. The only requirements are that they are in Range 1 and in LoS of the unit with Guardian. When a unit uses Guardian, you are NOT making a ranged attack against,it, it is just using an ability. So no, engaging Chewie will not keep him from using Guardian on Leia and Han.

Edited by arnoldrew

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@arnoldrew is right, the unit using GUARDIAN is not targeted by the attack, and is not even considered the defender. For further refference:

"While a friendly trooper unit at range 1 and in line of sight is defending against a ranged attack, a unit that has the guardian x keyword may cancel up to x hit (󲉠) results."

"A unit that uses guardian x to cancel hit (󲉠) results is not a defender and does not gain suppression tokens."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok understood, yet another reason not to bring Vader, thematically does not make sense, but hey.

Had a very weird event recently where Vader engaged Chewie in melee out of line of site of some troopers on a rooftop. The Troopers tried to shoot Han, but Chewie somehow leapt in front of the blaster fire and then jumped back up on the roof back into engaged melee combat with Vader and out of LOS of the troopers. I'm pretty sure that played out right as LOS from attacker to Guardian is not required I think?

Sorry about all the questions, but first time playing with that ability.

743E6xYl.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the LOS has to be the unit your guardian to. so in this case can chewie see han if the answer is yes then he can do it. chewie doesn't get supression and also it has to be within range 1 of chewie as he is the unit activating the ability. the attacker never has to be in LOS of the guardian unit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, azeronbloodmoone said:

the LOS has to be the unit your guardian to. so in this case can chewie see han if the answer is yes then he can do it. chewie doesn't get supression and also it has to be within range 1 of chewie as he is the unit activating the ability. the attacker never has to be in LOS of the guardian unit.

5

Yep that is what I concluded, thematically weird though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, Digimortal said:

Ok understood, yet another reason not to bring Vader, thematically does not make sense, but hey.

Had a very weird event recently where Vader engaged Chewie in melee out of line of site of some troopers on a rooftop. The Troopers tried to shoot Han, but Chewie somehow leapt in front of the blaster fire and then jumped back up on the roof back into engaged melee combat with Vader and out of LOS of the troopers. I'm pretty sure that played out right as LOS from attacker to Guardian is not required I think?

Sorry about all the questions, but first time playing with that ability.

743E6xYl.jpg

It's all an abstraction, man. He may not be literally flinging himself in front of a blaster bolt. He's mitigating harm that might come to his friends by sacrificing his own safety in some way.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, arnoldrew said:

It's all an abstraction, man. He may not be literally flinging himself in front of a blaster bolt. He's mitigating harm that might come to his friends by sacrificing his own safety in some way.

Clearly, I think the game does a good job of representing its theme, for the most part, this is just one of the most unusual things I've noticed in a scenario. Normally you can throw some fluff at what went down but this one leaves me scratching my head.

Those who see this as a competitive game of rules and mechanics won't be bothered, but I like to use my imagination a little bit when playing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...