Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Ram

A joy to bring to the table

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

So based fully on this thread, I brought Dengar to casual play a week or two back. With focus from Jabba and 2 blocks from extra armour, he was super fun to play. Since he can pile on the hunter cards, he can do a lot of damage and stun a big figure (or also tack on bleed and/or weaken). I gave him good cover and my opponent did not pay him much attention. But with focus and a hand of hunter cards, he's not someone you want lying around. 

Edited by NeverBetTheFett

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, cleardave said:

I think in terms of fun, you can't miss with a Rancor in Skirmish.  Just make sure you bring your Weiss token to use in place of the model for half the game when nothing fits on the board.

As @NeverBetTheFett once roasted me for on a Regionals stream, it's the only way you'll ever see Weiss at an event.

Never let your opponent body-shame your rancor.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

I experimented with a Parting Blow Bossk helped by Shyla pushing figures around. You keep the 2 close each other and when Shyla whips the opponent figure it gets one attack from Bossk and then the one from Shyla. It's a bit annoying that you need to set this up only after Bossk has been already activated, but he loses harmful conditions for free. Also Shyla can attack with one action and use the whip with the other action. She won't be able to perform a second attack, but at least you can push figures on the map and letting them exit a space adjacent to Bossk or maybe to Shyla itself as she can also use parting blow if you really need that one attack.

Edited by Trevize84

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Trevize84 said:

I experimented with a Parting Blow Bossk helped by Shyla pushing figures around. You keep the 2 close each other and when Shyla whips the opponent figure it gets one attack from Bossk and then the one from Shyla. It's a bit annoying that you need to set this up only after Bossk has been already activated, but he loses harmful conditions for free. Also Shyla can attack with one action and use the whip with the other action. She won't be able to perform a second attack, but at least you can push figures on the map and letting them exit a space adjacent to Bossk or maybe to Shyla itself as she can also use parting blow if you really need that one attack.

I don’t think you can technically do this “attack then whip” combo. Because the whip is an action that has you attack, and since you can’t attack again, you can’t do the entire action.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Yes, Mandalorian Whip is an action containing an attack with even the leniest possible interpretation (it's mandatory if possible, not optional, and it's only skipped if mission rules intervene and relocate the target). So, if you already performed any action containing attack during this activation, cannot use it.

 

Edited by a1bert

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, a1bert said:

Yes, Mandalorian Whip is an action containing an attack with even the leniest possible interpretation (it's mandatory if possible, not optional, and it's only skipped if mission rules intervene and relocate the target). So, if you already performed any action containing attack during this activation, cannot use it.

That's a very bad news :( But why does it work like that? I mean the ability says something like "choose a figure - full stop- push 3 spaces - full stop - Then attack", I expected 1st and 2nd part to be independent from 3rd part of the ability.

Edited by Trevize84

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
18 minutes ago, Trevize84 said:

That's a very bad news :( But why does it work like that? I mean the ability says something like "choose a figure - full stop- push 3 spaces - full stop - Then attack", I expected 1st and 2nd part to be independent from 3rd part of the ability.

1. Being able to push the chosen figure to an adjacent space is a requirement to be able to perform Mandalorian Whip. You must perform each part of an ability - you can't willy-nilly decide to skip parts unless the ability itself allows choice by "may" or having a cost, or it is not possible to perform a part of it. So, if you can perform the attack, you must perform the attack. The first parts guarantee that (unless mission rules "trapdoor" the figure) the attack will be valid.

2. Unrelated to 1. if an action contains an attack, it falls under the attack action during activation limit. Mandalorian Whip contains the activating figure performing an attack, so it is an action containing an attack, falling under the attack action limit. Note that it is not limiting the attacks, it's limiting the actions, so you can't perform the action containing attacks.

Edited by a1bert

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, a1bert said:

1. Being able to push the chosen figure to an adjacent space is a requirement to be able to perform Mandalorian Whip. You must perform each part of an ability - you can't willy-nilly decide to skip parts unless the ability itself allows choice by "may" or having a cost, or it is not possible to perform a part of it. So, if you can perform the attack, you must perform the attack. The first parts guarantee that (unless mission rules "trapdoor" the figure) the attack will be valid.

2. Unrelated to 1. if an action contains an attack, it falls under the attack action during activation limit. Mandalorian Whip contains the activating figure performing an attack, so it is an action containing an attack, falling under the attack action limit. Note that it is not limiting the attacks, it's limiting the actions, so you can't perform the action containing attacks.

I see, thanks for clarifying

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...