Jump to content
Thalandar

Reconfigure question

Recommended Posts

So, if i upgrade my pathfinders to the reconfigurable weapin card, do i still have access to the base weapon?

Example: pathfinders base range weapon 2 white dice at 1 to 3?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Indeed. In order to override your base weapon choices, an upgrade would have to have the sidearm keyword. Edit: Thanks, @YuriPanzer

I get why it's a bit confusing, though, since the upgrades are worded such that it seems like three different configurations of the same gun. But in practice, it's more like one gun that can switch between two secondary attachments.

Edited by Squark

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ideally if the idea was for the Armament upgrade to replace the base A-300, then the A-300 should have ALSO been an Armament upgrade for the Pathfinders, and the unit card should not have had a ranged weapon on it, like FFG is doing with Jyn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, with Jyn she has to use the pistol or rifle or nothing if not equipped (probably why hers is free) - with Pathfinders they probably didn't want to cause any weirdness where they could only punch people - so they have the "default" A-300, then the Arsenal upgrade for configs but technically you still always have your two white to fall on. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, Squark said:

Indeed. In order to override your base weapon choices, an upgrade would have to specifically say it replaces one. As of yet, no such upgrade exists.

I get why it's a bit confusing, though, since the upgrades are worded such that it seems like three different configurations of the same gun. But in practice, it's more like one gun that can switch between two secondary attachments.

Actually it is, the Electrostaff for Royal Guards, it prevent it to use the regular Force Pike. The Keyword is Sidearm

RRG page 53

image.png.34d191e33d7ec8a4e2879db421c3a61c.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, YuriPanzer said:

Actually it is, the Electrostaff for Royal Guards, it prevent it to use the regular Force Pike. The Keyword is Sidearm

RRG page 53

I doubt we will see Sidearm: Ranged on any Armaments for units with Heavy ranged or Grenade upgrades, since that would lead to a situation where the unit would be completely unable to make use of some of the upgrades it can buy. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, YuriPanzer said:

I also doubt it @Caimheul1313 , but he keyword exists :)

Anyway I completelly agree on what you stated, that if they wouldn't you use the "base config" when using the new Armament, would did the same as they have done with Jyn's gun.

Fair point, it was more of a general observation as to why "Sidearm" would have been a VERY bad thing to apply to this Armament upgrade. 😁

As an aside, people have been seeing email from Alex Davy regarding that the rules for Armaments have been almost entirely left out. Technically by the rules as written, Armaments are an upgrade you can take, but they have no effect, as only Grenades and Hardpoints add weapons to a unit. But email confirms that was an oversight which they hope to rectify when they can. Rules changes, even ones seemingly very obvious, are subject to the slow, grinding wheels of bureaucracy. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, I heard this in reference to X-Wing FAQs, but I assume it applies to all Star Wars stuff, that technically Lucasfilm has to eyeball and approve them. Given how they treat other license holders (coughEAcough) I'm sure they don't get into details of the actual game, but somebody at a desk still has to see it and make sure no terrible typo or hidden message slips out with the LFL logo on it. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...