Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Burgie1996

Skill test question:

Recommended Posts

When performing a skill test on a card that says something like “add intellect to this evasion attempt” can I use skill cards that have both intellect and agility pips on them for this test?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is still an agility skill test so intellect pips sadly do not count to towards your total, and cards that have an intellect pip without an agility pip or wild icon may not be committed to the test. Static intellect boosts (e.g. Dr. Milan) would still increase your skill value, as I believe would the free triggered abilities on cards like Arcane Studies or Higher Education.

The relevant rules are found under Appendix II of the Rules Reference, in section ST.2:

  • "The investigator performing the skill test may commit any number of cards with an appropriate skill icon from his or her hand to this test."
  • "An appropriate skill icon is either one that matches the skill being tested, or a wild icon."
  • "The investigator performing this test gets +1 to his or her skill value during this test for each appropriate skill icon that is committed to this test."

Hope that helps!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Edit: Too slow! @Assussanni is correct and even has RR entries, fancy! 

Short answer: No.

If you're making, say, an evade test with Slip Away, it's still an Evade test and you are only allowed to commit and count matching icons (evade and wild). If you're instead changing the base test type altogether, such as with Mists of R'lyeh, you can only get benefits for the new test type with committed cards. 

This only applies to committing cards - boosts from card effects such as Arcane Studies have no such restrictions unless they state otherwise, so you can use those to boost the secondary stat and thereby get a bonus for the test. 

Edited by Allonym
Ninja'd

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...