Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
ThumperLOLZ

Emergency Stims

Recommended Posts

Just for clarity, if I have emergency stims on a unit with multiple wounds that has already activated. That unit only has 2 health remaining and then gets attacked for 2 and activates the stims card placing 2 wounds on the card, they then get attacked again by a different unit who scores two hits again. Would the unit now be dead?

 

I know this is a simple query and comes down to choosing the right time to pop the stims, but thought I'd ask.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If the game allowed one to be able to ready then use cards with an exhaust icon or any icon for that matter again, then in that way you would of been able to since it doesn't say it is limited to only being able to have 2 wound tokens on the card itself. If you could un-exhaust it and use it again which you can't, you could prevent another 2 wounds from a secondary attack.

It states in the rules those cards are unique which can only be used once on pg 11,  and it would be exhausted anyway even if not. As said, that unit would die.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

why do you say so? Once the two wound token have been passed from the card back to the unit, if there are models still alive in that unit, it can recover to refresh Emergency stims and you them another time. 

This procedure can be used in order to have one or two more model shooting in that unit's next activation.  After that they can rest in peace.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Tokous said:

If the game allowed one to be able to ready then use cards with an exhaust icon or any icon for that matter again, then in that way you would of been able to since it doesn't say it is limited to only being able to have 2 wound tokens on the card itself. If you could un-exhaust it and use it again which you can't, you could prevent another 2 wounds from a secondary attack.

It states in the rules those cards are unique which can only be used once on pg 11,  and it would be exhausted anyway even if not. As said, that unit would die.

Fun tactic: it’s actually possible with Veers’ Imperial Discipline command card. Your snowtroopers take 2 wounds and put them on stims. Next round they get issued an order which allows them to recover. They get attacked again and put 2 more wounds on stims. They activate later in that turn, do their dirty work, and then suffer 4 wounds all at once.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, toffolone said:

That's not true: you still are limited to two wounds max on the Emergency stims.

 

Take another look at the card. You are limited to 2 wounds for each attack. Normally you only get to use it during one attack because of the exhaust effect, so that limits it to 2. But with the refresh from Veers you get another use out of it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll try to better explain what was being said.


A round starts, Player 1 has Veers as a Commander. Activates a Stormtrooper unit attacking Player 2's rebel unit, which ends up a miss. Ends there action.

Player 2  chooses a Corp unit to do a ranged attack against Player 1's Stormtrooper unit of 4 with the Exhaust(able) upgrade card Emergency Stim- During an attack, when you would suffer wounds, prevent up to 2 wounds and place an equal number of wound tokens on this card instead. If you do, at the end of your next activation, discard each token on this card and suffer wounds equal to the number of tokens discarded.

Skipping ahead... The Stormtroopers take 2 damage... instead they Exhaust Emergency Stim to prevent (delay) the 2 wounds.

Next Round, Player 1 uses the command card: Imperial Discipline (3 pip) - When a friendly unit is issued an orderIt may recover.

(For all who don't know.   Recover: A unit can recover by performing a recover action. When a unit recovers, a player removes any number of suppression tokens from that unit and readies any number of the unit’s exhausted upgrade cards.)

Now Imperial Discipline Recovers that stormtrooper unit with Emergency Stim which is no longer Exhausted. And, given one of the face up order tokens.

They are attacked again for 2 damage ... Exhaust Emergency Stim preventing another 2.... now there are 4 wound tokens on Emergency Stim. They eventually activate, do there thing. They end there activation... NOW Emergency Stims requires that unit to do a wound per every wound token on that card, which defeats the unit of 4 doing 4 damage.

 

The card Emergency Stim doesn't state it can only have up to max 2 wounds on the card, and doesn't say discard up to 2.. it says each and to suffer an equal number, and you can only prevent up to 2 per during an attack (which the card is not exhaust).

Hopefully that helps.

 

slight edit, thanks Caimheul1313 for seeing it.

 

Edited by Tokous

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, Tokous said:

I'll try to better explain what was being said.


A round starts, Player 1 has Veers as a Commander

Player 2 wins priority and chooses a Corp unit to do a ranged attack against Player 1's Stormtrooper unit of 4 with the Exhaust(able) upgrade card Emergency Stim- During an attack, when you would suffer wounds, prevent up to 2 wounds and place an equal number of wound tokens on this card instead. If you do, at the end of your next activation, discard each token on this card and suffer wounds equal to the number of tokens discarded.

Skipping ahead... The Stormtroopers take 2 damage... instead they Exhaust Emergency Stim to prevent (delay) the 2 wounds. Eventually it is there activation, they do whatever actions they do.

Next Round, Player 1 uses the command card: Imperial Discipline (3 pip) - When a friendly unit is issued an orderIt may recover.

(For all who don't know.   Recover: A unit can recover by performing a recover action. When a unit recovers, a player removes any number of suppression tokens from that unit and readies any number of the unit’s exhausted upgrade cards.)

Now Imperial Discipline Recovers that stormtrooper unit with Emergency Stim which is no longer Exhausted.

They are attacked again for 2 damage ... Exhaust Emergency Stim preventing another 2.... now there are 4 wound tokens on Emergency Stim. They eventually activate, do there thing. They end there activation... NOW Emergency Stims requires that unit to do a wound per every wound token on that card, which defeats the unit of 4 doing 4 damage.

 

The card Emergency Stim doesn't state it can only have up to max 2 wounds on the card, and doesn't say discard up to 2.. it says each and to suffer an equal number, and you can only prevent up to 2 per during an attack (which the card is not exhaust).

Hopefully that helps. If I'm wrong please correct me so I learn.

 

Except the first two wounds that the unit took would hit it during the first round you list, since you have them taking damage BEFORE their activation. Their activation that turn would be "the next activation." If the Stormtrooper unit had taken the initial damage AFTER their activation that round, then your situation would work. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I see, that's what I initially meant to say but was trying to make it very detailed...ended up deleting so much extra details and then that happens lol. I will edit it immediately, thanks for catching that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...