Jump to content
YuriPanzer

Is a compulsory move a standard move?

Recommended Posts

Coming from here:

New rules about Embark/Disembark RRG page 32:

Quote

When a unit disembarks, if the vehicle that is transporting that unit has performed more than one standard move during the current round, disembarking uses that unit’s entire activation and it cannot perform additional actions or any free actions.

Landspeeder: Their compulsory move will be considered an standard move? I can't find anything specifically but:

· Movement page 42: The primary way that units move is by performing a move action. When a unit performs a move action, it performs a standard move, reverse, pivot, climb, or clamber.

So, when you perform a compulsory move it's clear that is not a reverse, pivot, climb nor clamber. So it should be a standard move, as described in the movement section. Some people say that "Compulsory move is not a move action, so it can't be a standard movement". I might agree, but I found this:

· Difficult terrain page 30: When a game effect causes a unit to perform a standard move of a specific speed outside of its normal activation, that move is not affected by difficult terrain.

It seems that is not much related, but we have a situation where there will be a standard move without an action.

 

What do you think?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On page 23 of the RR, it says 

Quote

compulsory move is a move, not a move action, and therefore does not trigger abilities that occur after move actions are performed and does not count against the unit’s two actions per activation.

Answer is No, Compulsory move is not a Standard Move.  You already wrote it so I won't quote it... page 42 of RR it says when doing a Move Action you are doing a Standard move, etc etc.  A Move Action is the only Action you can do twice per activation among the list of Actions able to do seen on pg 11 of RR.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Tokous said:

On page 23 of the RR, it says 

Answer is No, Compulsory move is not a Standard Move.  You already wrote it so I won't quote it... page 42 of RR it says when doing a Move Action you are doing a Standard move, etc etc.  A Move Action is the only Action you can do twice per activation among the list of Actions able to do seen on pg 11 of RR.

and FAQ states this :
Whenever a game effect allows or forces a unit to perform a “speed–x” move, that unit performs a full or partial standard move with a speed equal to or lower than “x.” 

also in the RRG page 42 only defines move action as this

When a unit performs a move action, it performs a standard move, reverse, pivot, climb, or clamber.

standard move is a different and define in the next section of it. a standard move isn't a move action by itself, but a move action can do a standard move two different things.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

a standard move you just have to do the following
To perform a standard move, a player performs the following steps:

1. Take Movement Tool: The player chooses a movement tool.»Each unit has a maximum speed of one, two, or three, which is represented by a number of red bars on the unit’s card. When a unit performs a standard move, it uses a movement tool with a value equal to or less than its maximum speed.
2. Place Movement Tool: The player places the movement tool against the moving unit’s base, according to the type of base:

»Unnotched Base: The player places one end of the movement tool flush against any portion of the unit leader mini’s base.

»Notched Base: The player places one end of the movement tool into the front notch of the vehicle’s base.
3. Adjust Movement Tool:The player can adjust the movement tool at its joint, bending it as they desire. The movement tool creates a path along which the mini will move.
4. Execute Full or Partial Move: The player executes either a full or partial move.

»Full: Holding the movement tool in place, the player lifts up the unit leader mini and moves it along the path of the movement tool, keeping the mini’s base centered in relation to the width of the tool. Then, if the mini has an unnotched base, the player places the mini’s base flush against the other end of the movement tool; if the mini has a notched base, the player places the mini so the other end of the movement tool is inserted into the rear notch of the mini’s base.

»Partial: Holding the movement tool in place, the player lifts up the unit leader mini and moves it along the path of the movement tool, keeping the mini’s base centered in relation to the width of the tool. Then, the player places the mini anywhere along the path created by the movement tool, moving the movement tool out of the way and placing the mini on the battlefield. When placing a mini with a notched base during a partial move, the unit must be placed such that the central axis of the mini’s front and back notches is parallel to the section of the movement tool the mini reached at the furthest part of its move.
5. Establish Cohesion: The player places all minis of the moving unit that are not the unit leader in cohesion with the unit leader (see "Cohesion" on page 20).»When a notched base mini is placed in cohesion, its base must be oriented in the exact same direction as the unit leader’s base
everything listed above is per FFG RRG a standard move and it doesn't state that it has to be a action to perform this either.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, YuriPanzer said:

The reasons @azeronbloodmoone stated is why I -think- compulsory is standard, but I'm not sure.

Help me @nashjaee, you are my only hope.

It is indeed a standard move. For the reason @azeronbloodmoone mentioned:

“Whenever a game effect allows or forces a unit to perform a “speed–x” move, that unit performs a full or partial standard move with a speed equal to or lower than “x.” ”

Additionally, there is a limited list of possible types of moves. All moves must be one of these types, so by process of elimination you can figure out it’s a standard move:

  1. Standard move
  2. reverse
  3. climb/clamber
  4. pivot
  5. withdraw

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Ophion said:

So does a compulsory move trigger standby?

It does, because standby is triggered by  moves, attacks, or actions.

Regardless of what type of move a compulsory is, it fits in that first category.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...