Jump to content
choassassin

Grenade question

Recommended Posts

I have tried looking through the rules reference and the forums and I cannot find a for sure answer to my question regarding grenades. 

To my understanding if I have a core unit of troopers with 1 extra trooper and/or 1 heavy trooper attacks with any type of grenade, the total attack dice for that is based on the total number of troopers involved in the attack, 4-6 grenade dice for that attack. My question comes from after all this. First, if I use Impact Grenades, does the effect of the grenade card stack per each grenade dice involved in the attack? Impact 4-6? Second, once I use the grenades from my one unit in that attack, are the grenades lost or can I continue to use them again and again and again, once per unit per round of course?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 minutes ago, choassassin said:

So why aren't more people using them then? Frag grenade surge to crit is so much better than anything else.

The real limiting factor is Range 1. People may save those 5 points for something else if they don't plan to be at that close range with a particular unit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On page 35 of the RR, speaks about Impact - 

Quote

If a unit performs an attack using multiple weapons that have the impact x keyword and those weapons contribute dice to the same attack pool, the x values of each impact x keyword are cumulative.

 

Quote

For example, a unit that performs an attack using both a weapon that has impact 1 and a weapon that has impact 2 contribute dice to the attack pool, that attack is treated as using a weapon that has impact 3 which allows that unit to change up to three hit results to critical results.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As far as I'm aware, the grenade upgrade adds Impact 1 to the attack pool as long as one die from the grenade card is used.

Having the entire unit throw impact grenades doesn't result in Impact 5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, Indy_com said:

As far as I'm aware, the grenade upgrade adds Impact 1 to the attack pool as long as one die from the grenade card is used.

Having the entire unit throw impact grenades doesn't result in Impact 5

Yes it does. (New) RRG P40

Quote

when a Stormtrooper unit composed of four minis performs an attack, if each mini chooses to use the weapon on an equipped Impact Grenades upgrade card, the attack pool would consist of four instances of impact 1, and thus the attack pool would have impact 4.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just remember that IMPACT is a rule referring to the weapon, so each weapon used with IMPACT X can apply this effect. It is like the cannon from speeder bikes: it says Impact 1 on their card,. but when you fire with two bikes, you have two cannons, so impact 2. For the same reason if you use 5 grenades with Impact 1, you have Impact 5 on the Whole pool.

rgds

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's not one die being used, it's as long as at least one among that unit is using it against the same target then the keyword is gained for the rest. Just because only one die is being used currently with all the grenades, doesn't mean there won't be a grenade with two or more. Which I don't understand why that is being debated when I put both quotes up already directly from the RR.

Edited by Tokous

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×