Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Bayushi Shunsuke

[Ruling] Mantis Tenkinja

Recommended Posts

On 2/14/2019 at 1:03 PM, Bayushi Shunsuke said:

Can I activate Mantis Tenkinja when I play a 0 cost event?

No, you cannot reduce the cost of a 0 cost card.

[Tyler Parrott, Feb 9 2019]

Followup Question

What exactly stops you from using a Mantis Tenkinja on a 0 cost event? It seems to be a modifier (like Ageless Crone and Utaku Tetsuko) and the rules on modifiers states:

“A quantity cannot be reduced so that it functions with a value below zero: a card cannot have negative icons, political or military skill, glory, traits, cost, or keywords. Negative modifiers that would take a value below zero can be applied, but, after all active modifiers have been applied, any resultant value below zero is treated as zero.”

The end result may still be 0 but this suggests I can apply the modifier anyway. As a related example, I believe I’m allowed to use Sinister Soshi on an Eager Scout or play Banzai on a dishonoured Shiba Tsukune even though the character was 0 skill before and is still 0 skill afterwards.

Followup Answer

Your read here is correct. You should be able to apply a modifier to a 0-cost event for the reasons you have listed.

Edited by Bayushi Shunsuke

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1) If I have 2 fate and a Mantis Tenkinja in play, am I allowed to attempt.to play A Fate Worse Than Death, trigger the Tenkinja before step 1, then fail to pay costs in step 2 while still having activated the Tenkinja?

2) If I have 3 fate in a similar situation, am I forced to use the Tenkinja?

3) If I have 1 more honour than my opponent am I allowed to trigger the Tenkinja while playing Subdue the Spirits?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tenkinja triggers as an interrupt to step 2, after play restrictions have been determined.

Quote

1) If I have 2 fate and a Mantis Tenkinja in play, am I allowed to attempt.to play A Fate Worse Than Death, trigger the Tenkinja before step 1, then fail to pay costs in step 2 while still having activated the Tenkinja?

If you trigger Tenkinja with 2 fate attempting to play AFWTD, you will lose 1 honor and then the event will fail to be played during step 2.
 

Quote

2) If I have 3 fate in a similar situation, am I forced to use the Tenkinja?

If you trigger Tenkinja with 3 fate attempting to play AFWTD, you will lose 1 honor and successfully play the event.
a. If you attempt to play AFWTD but do not trigger Tenkinja, the event will fail to be played during step 2.
 

Quote

3) If I have 1 more honour than my opponent am I allowed to trigger the Tenkinja while playing Subdue the Spirits?

If you trigger Tenkinja with 2 fate and 1 honor more than your opponent, you will lose 1 honor and the event will fail to be played during step 1.

[Tyler Parrott, Feb 9 2019]

Edited by Bayushi Shunsuke

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...