Jump to content
John79

Proton Charge outside a building

Recommended Posts

In my last game I wanted to set a charge in a plaza and move the squad inside a building.  Then during the next activation of this squad, I wanted to detonate.  However, my opponent insisted that they would get no cover from being inside of a building with a featureless wall between the squad and the charge since they where within range 1 and the card read blast to ignore cover.  The only entrance and window to this building where outside of range 1.  Was this a correct ruling?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No it wasn't.
RRG page 13 under "Area weapon":

"When using an area weapon, perform a separate attack against each unit that is in line of sight and at the range indicated by the number on the range icon."

It doesn't matter if the attack pool has blast or not, if that mine can't see any of the minis in the defender, it can't attack it.

Edited by Lemmiwinks86

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And I’ll just add the entry for Blast:

An attack pool that includes a weapon that has the blast
keyword ignores the effects of cover.
• During the “Apply Dodge and Cover” step of an attack, the 
defender cannot use light or heavy cover to cancel hit (󲉠) 
results produced by an attack pool that contains a die that 
was contributed by a weapon that has the blast keyword

 

In summary: Blast ignores cover. It does not ignore line of sight. So the unit inside the building is safe from the attack.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks guys.  I thought it could not wound my squad since there was no line of sight.  Every hex and counter war game I have played has always come down to line of sight and a satchel charge isn't exactly artillery.  I figured Legion was no different.  Also, I noticed that I need to update my RRG book since I don't have that on page 13. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...