Jump to content
rlpowell

Does having more than one Keen Eye do anything?

Recommended Posts

1 hour ago, Astrophil84 said:

I don‘t know any situation in which it could be beneficial to have two Keen Eye.

Agreed, there seems to be no situation in which you would benefit from 2 copies of the card....

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You definitely never want a second copy since they're redundant. 

Purely for showing off some rules, however, there are at least 2 extremely niche cases where having two copies could be beneficial: Firstly, if you are playing as Lola Hayes, whose deckbuilding requirements state that she needs to have at least 7 cards each from 3 different classes; if your deck only wanted 5 Guardian cards in it, having 2 of Keen Eye would let you get around that as they're counted for the requirement but won't enter your actual deck (but it's totally not worth 3 exp just to get around that part of her deckbuilding). Secondly, there are cards that care how many assets you control (Sacred Woods in Boundary Beyond, for instance, gets -1 shroud per asset you control), so having 2 copies of Keen Eye would give you that bonus twice; obviously you'd be far better off with taking a permanent that actually does something instead of the second copy, e.g. Charisma, but it is theoretically a benefit (again, not one that is remotely worth 3 exp). 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, Allonym said:

You definitely never want a second copy since they're redundant. 

Purely for showing off some rules, however, there are at least 2 extremely niche cases where having two copies could be beneficial: Firstly, if you are playing as Lola Hayes, whose deckbuilding requirements state that she needs to have at least 7 cards each from 3 different classes; if your deck only wanted 5 Guardian cards in it, having 2 of Keen Eye would let you get around that as they're counted for the requirement but won't enter your actual deck (but it's totally not worth 3 exp just to get around that part of her deckbuilding). Secondly, there are cards that care how many assets you control (Sacred Woods in Boundary Beyond, for instance, gets -1 shroud per asset you control), so having 2 copies of Keen Eye would give you that bonus twice; obviously you'd be far better off with taking a permanent that actually does something instead of the second copy, e.g. Charisma, but it is theoretically a benefit (again, not one that is remotely worth 3 exp). 

That is some hilarious rules lawyering.  Well done.  :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And just to double check: this is also true for all the others in that set (Higher Education, Streetwise, Scrapper) *except* Blood Pact, where having 2 is definitely valuable.  Right?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Correct, although I'm not sure how valuable spending 3 exp for a second Blood Pact is. It probably depends a lot on what difficulty you are playing on as to whether +3 is enough for any tests you really want to pass or whether you really need that +6.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Assussanni said:

Correct, although I'm not sure how valuable spending 3 exp for a second Blood Pact is. It probably depends a lot on what difficulty you are playing on as to whether +3 is enough for any tests you really want to pass or whether you really need that +6.

Yeah another 3xp seems like a lot, especially in easy or standard where +3 should get you over the line for most test... and you give yrself 2 lots of doom to clean up....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×