Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
HalfAsleep

You may become poisoned when already poisoned?

Recommended Posts

I'm just wondering about the exploration card "Hornet's nest", that gives you the choice of becoming poisoned to inflict damage to enemies.  Can you choose to become poisoned when you are already poisoned? Even though you do not get two poison conditions?  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 hours ago, HalfAsleep said:

I'm just wondering about the exploration card "Hornet's nest", that gives you the choice of becoming poisoned to inflict damage to enemies.  Can you choose to become poisoned when you are already poisoned? Even though you do not get two poison conditions?  

I would say no.
Per page 11 under 'Choices':
When an ability gives a hero the choice between two different outcomes, the hero may not choose an option that would have no effect unless the other option would also have no effect.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, klempad said:

I would say no.
Per page 11 under 'Choices':
When an ability gives a hero the choice between two different outcomes, the hero may not choose an option that would have no effect unless the other option would also have no effect.

This was my first impression as well, but upon further reflection, I'm not sure if this card qualifies as a choice. In other FFG titles, this would be considered a cost and there is usually a clause in the rules stating that costs must be fully paid in order for an effect to proceed, but there is no mention of costs in the rules. 

I'm still not 100% sure of the answer.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 hours ago, Budgernaut said:

This was my first impression as well, but upon further reflection, I'm not sure if this card qualifies as a choice. In other FFG titles, this would be considered a cost and there is usually a clause in the rules stating that costs must be fully paid in order for an effect to proceed, but there is no mention of costs in the rules. 

I'm still not 100% sure of the answer.

But one paragraph down (under Costs), it says:

If a hero is given a choice between two costs, they cannot choose a cost they cannot pay.

So it would seem to apply  here also.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, klempad said:

But one paragraph down (under Costs), it says:

If a hero is given a choice between two costs, they cannot choose a cost they cannot pay.

So it would seem to apply  here also.

Wow. I completely missed the cost section.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×