Sign in to follow this  
IamNotyourFather

Power level on enemies in newer expansions to strong?

Im new to the LOTR lcg and have really enjoyed playing the quests from the core set and a few of the older cycle packs i have found. Unfortunately like a lot of people i cant find many of the older expansions so i have been picking up newer expansions and cycles. As i play newer expansions, i like the quests but have noticed that the enemies are getting more powerful stats, in my opinion, maybe to powerful.

A basic Goblin, Orc, etc used to have 2-3 attack, 1-2 defense and maybe 3 hit points, which was managable by a heroe or a couple allys which is thematic. In the newer expansions im seeing Dunland Warriors, Goblins, Orcs having Troll level stats, requiring multiple heroes along with allys to defeat them. Im sure a lot of it has to do with the attachments and events that are now available to the player.

I hope LOTR lcg continues for many years to come but in future encounter decks it would be nice to have a board state with multiple weaker enemies (maybe a mechanic where some can combine attacks) as opposed to having overly powerful enemies. For me it would be more thematic.

Anyone else seeing the same thing?

I'm sure they probably will. They may just be doing it this way for now just to throw something different at players for a surprise or to keep you on your toes.

I think the jump in average enemy power happened between Dwarrowdelf (2nd cycle) and Against the Shadow (3rd cycle), but hasn't seen any dramatic leaps since then.  But it varies by scenario -- the Cursed Dead of the Angmar Awakens cycle will overwhelm you with numbers.

Here's how orc surgers have changed over the game:

10/1/2/0/2 Wolf Rider (core)

45/2/1/1/3 Orc Horn Blower (KD) -- When revealed: reveal a card from encounter deck and add it to staging area.  [Hate this guy]

20/1/3/1/2 Goblin Runners (OHUH, later used in Limited Edition Starter)