Turcopolier

Ideas for reining in the bid war

Hello there! (Let's start with an Obi-wan reference)

Long-time player(wave 4 I think?), long-time reader of the forums, third-time poster. This is my first attempt to join the everlasting discussion on how to improve/change the game, and I'm fully aware that this is a subjective opinion. 
For me, xwing has always been a game that at its core is, or at least should be, about reading and outwitting your opponent. "What is the person across the table going to do?" is the most important thing. The other important thing is that of balance, in my opinion best achieved through what we can call "trade-off" or "alternative cost". I was a person who actually appreciated VI and adaptability, in the sense that it forced you to trade. "Do I want to move last or do I want to have the option of double repositioning?".
A bid was/is in itself not necessarily bad; you trade possible points for an advantage. 
Herein however lies the biggest problem according to me: the do-or-die of getting to move last, a clear advantage when referring to repositioning and target-locks. There isn't a major* trade-off in the order of movement since it gives you such an advantage that spending almost the full price of a tie-fighter justify it.

*Blocking is the natural trade-off here, however the existence of upgrades that allow you to reposition before your manoeuvre severely hampers this.

The feeling of having"lost or won" due to initiative before the game starts is not something I appreciated.

Since you're not supposed to just criticize without being constructive, here's my two cents:

Naturally split the advantage of last movement and the high mobility that double repositioning offers. 

-------------------------------- Cost----------------------------------->

Init6 (single repos.)
Init1 -> Init2 -> Init3 -> Init4 ->{
                                                        Init5 (double repos.)