Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Suneisha

Question on Search Items

Recommended Posts

Hi all,

I have what I am sure is a stupid question with an easy answer, that will show how new I am to this game (played my first game on the weekend and was the Overlord) but I haven't been able to find a definitive answer.

When using a basic search card, such as a health potion or fire flask, it says flip this car to use the effects, which I would assume would be a one off use. However, usually when an item is turned over this just means it's unequipped and can be equipped again at the start of the player's next turn. I'm sure these are meant as one off use items, but can't find it definitively stated in the rules (which I've probably just missed).

Is anybody able to state whether the items are one-use or multiple use (I know they are returned after the game) and if they are just one use where this is stated (as I'm sure the players will argue otherwise).

Thanks in Advance!

Sune

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Search card are indeed single use. It is correct that both used search cards and unequipped Item cards are flipped to the back. However, search cards are usually never flipped to the front (only Ulma Grimstone can do that using her Heroic Feat) whereas Item card are flipped to the front when they are equipped at the start of the turn. 

Rules, p10: Some Search cards may be used for a one-time effect (as listed on the card). After using a Search card, the player flips the card facedown and 
keeps it in his play area.

Unfortunately, I cannot find a more specific paragraph in the rules on this.

 

Edited by Sadgit

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for that Sadjit, That's how I interpreted it too. I think it should be written as all search cards should be used for a one time effect as listed on the card and then placed facedown.

Writing it some cards makes it sound like the card should specify when the card is only one use, where as items like healing potions, stamina potions and fire flasks make sense to only be one use but don't explicitly state it on their rules. I might have got more confused because one of the items that the characters found was the warding talisman, which thematically could be more than one use but would seem to fit in the same category as the potions.

It seems people are on the same page about the rules though, which makes me think I probably got my interpretation correct.....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...