Jump to content
Karneck

Star Wars Armada Explained (SWAE) Rule explanations, Interviews and Battles

Recommended Posts

Sorry everybody! Take 2 on Local Fire control. The above video link has been updated with the new video. 
I made quite a few small errors in the first video and I felt the need to reshoot to correct them. Thats what I get for making a video in a rush!
My next video will be Commander Agate! followed by ignition and then Heavy Fire Zone.

Edited by Karneck

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The KARM has been updated with all Wave 8 material but will continue to be refined. The KARM is almost completely operational as the only two areas left to work on is Objectives and streamlining and integrating all ship and squadron expansion booklets into the RRG.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1T57stO2NSGdgf8ikhL_x_cXDBqYpFSDs

Edited by Karneck

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just watched your video on Heavy Fire Zone. Absolutely agree with your interpretation of the card’s basic intent. But I do have a question for you...

In the last couple of minutes, you seem to imply that Draven/Kallus don’t work with HFZ, but I can’t see why that would be the case. Scenario:

I have an ISD-II with Kallus and HFZ. Luke Skywalker is at long range. I target him with flak fire, change my blues to reds with HFZ, and roll (let’s say I get two single hits). During the resolve attack effects step, Kallus allows me to add a die of any color, because Luke is unique. So I throw in a black, and get a third hit. This seems legal. Do you disagree? Or did I misunderstand you?

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Cpt ObVus said:

Just watched your video on Heavy Fire Zone. Absolutely agree with your interpretation of the card’s basic intent. But I do have a question for you...

In the last couple of minutes, you seem to imply that Draven/Kallus don’t work with HFZ, but I can’t see why that would be the case. Scenario:

I have an ISD-II with Kallus and HFZ. Luke Skywalker is at long range. I target him with flak fire, change my blues to reds with HFZ, and roll (let’s say I get two single hits). During the resolve attack effects step, Kallus allows me to add a die of any color, because Luke is unique. So I throw in a black, and get a third hit. This seems legal. Do you disagree? Or did I misunderstand you?

Thanks!

I think you misunderstood what Karneck was saying. The timing of Agent Kallus or General Draven is after the use of Heavy Fire Zone. You add dice in attack step 3 (Resolve Attack Effects). You exchange blue dice to red dice before attack step 2 (Roll Attack Dice). Why is this important? If you have only 1 blue anti-squadron die and the attack is obstructed, you can't benefit from Kallus' or Draven's effects (or a CF dial). The attack is canceled in step 2, never reaching 3.

Karneck wanted to deny a misinterpretation of timing, saying: To throw a second blue die in with Kallus/Draven and then exchange them to red, to have enough dice to come around obstuction is not possible. But you could use HFZ to attack at long range and if you have a valid initial attack pool in step 2, then you may add a die during step 3 from Kallus or Draven or a CF dial.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Triangular got it.

It was just so I was being clear you couldn't add the Kallus and Draven dice in the initial attack pool. They are "add" effects and added in after the initial attack pool is rolled.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...