Jump to content
Karneck

Star Wars Armada Explained (SWAE) Interviews and Rule explanations

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

How-to use Commander "Grand Admiral Thrawn" - Star Wars Armada Explained (SWAE)

With Special guest! Ian Cross! The star wars armada judge for worlds.

Forewarning, this is the longest video I've ever done. Clocking in at 45 minutes. Yes, it took that long to explain everything.

 

Edited by Karneck

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Been enjoying this thread from the start! Great learning materials and glad to see you continuing it. I'm assuming/hoping you'll be covering squadrons as well?

I used Norra Wexley for the first time last night and had her paired up with Nym. Seemed like a devastating combo but wondering if I played it right. Nym attacks a ship and rolls a black hit and a blue crit. Nym's ability triggers on the blue crit and the ship discards one defense token. Then does Nym's crit also trigger Norra and the defending hull zone loses one shield? After that, are two damages applied to the ship for the hit and crit rolled?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, drail14me said:

Been enjoying this thread from the start! Great learning materials and glad to see you continuing it. I'm assuming/hoping you'll be covering squadrons as well?

I used Norra Wexley for the first time last night and had her paired up with Nym. Seemed like a devastating combo but wondering if I played it right. Nym attacks a ship and rolls a black hit and a blue crit. Nym's ability triggers on the blue crit and the ship discards one defense token. Then does Nym's crit also trigger Norra and the defending hull zone loses one shield? After that, are two damages applied to the ship for the hit and crit rolled?

Only one Crit can be resolved per attack.  So it’s one or the other, Nyms or Norras...

But it’s nice to have the choice available, especially if your blue doesn’t cooperate but your black does.

 

And yes, the Crit does count as a damage point - only because he has Bomber 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Now for something different! As promised, SWAE is dedicated to creating new community content, one of these is interviews with the shakers and movers of Star Wars Armada.

Star Wars Armada Explained (SWAE) Interviews 2 ship creator Brobafett
SWAE managed to track down the exclusive bounty hunter, Brobafett to talk about creating 2 ship, how 2 ship has effected the meta of Star Wars Armada, and the future of this game.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, Green Knight said:

Did SWAE do a tutorial on the Discord-based setup vlog spawn thingy?

Coming from Vassal X-wing that one was a REALLY nice surprise! @Ardaedhel

That's something of a rite of passage on the  discord channel. ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Karneck  I'd like to request a Devastator video. I just watched your 800 Point Fleet Battle v Ardaedhel. At the end, at the 36:16 mark in the video, you roll a bunch of dice. From the chat, I'm thinking that's the roll you would have gotten off the Devastator had it not been killed. Can you explain how you rolled the extra four blue dice? Does Devastator title let you discard the defense tokens or were your's already gone?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...