Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Terraneaux

Corruption condition and Father Mateo

Recommended Posts

2 hours ago, Terraneaux said:

The Corruption condition says "if you would gain a Boon, discard this instead." If Father Mateo gives an investigator who has a Corruption condition a boon... what happens?

You discard that (the Corruption condition) instead (of gaining a Boon condition).

Edited by tsuma534

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

12 hours ago, tsuma534 said:

You discard that (the Corruption condition) instead (of gaining a Boon condition).

Yes, but what happens to the Boon condition? Does Father Mateo get to keep it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 hours ago, Terraneaux said:

 

Yes, but what happens to the Boon condition? Does Father Mateo get to keep it?

It would be discarded.   Father Mateo gives the condition to the other investigator, so he doesn't have it anymore.  But instead of receiving it, the other investigator loses their corruption condition.  Both cards get discarded.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, Terraneaux said:
23 hours ago, tsuma534 said:
On 1/17/2019 at 8:12 AM, Terraneaux said:

The Corruption condition says "if you would gain a Boon, discard this instead." If Father Mateo gives an investigator who has a Corruption condition a boon... what happens?

You discard that (the Corruption condition) instead (of gaining a Boon condition).

Yes, but what happens to the Boon condition? Does Father Mateo get to keep it?

I'm sorry but we both screwed up. I haven't bothered to check Father's Mateo actual wording and you haven't bothered to post it with your question.

For the clarity, here it is:

Quote

Action: Give 1 of your Boon Conditions to another investigator on any space.

While I can answer questions for any other expansion with 99,5% accuracy, Masks of Nyarlathotep is different. It doesn't stick to the original wording templates and instead uses a more natural language a lot.
Read "natural" as "ambiguous".
For moving things around we have two established keywords, "gain" and "trade". But Father Mateo uses an unprecedented word "give".
If "give"'ing has the other investigator "gain" the Boon condition then it's discarded together with the Corrupted condition.
But if "give"'ing means "trade"'ing the Boon condition to the other investigator, then the other investigator would end up with both conditions.
Both interpretations seem fine to me but I would choose the "discard both" as the other one would leave the game in a somewhat confusing state.

There's also the possible interpretation that Father Mateo keeps his Boon condition while the Corrupted condition is discarded.
While the text can be understood this way, this variant would be demented by any official ruling as it's not only confusing but it would also upset the game balance significantly.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...