Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Sir13scott

Timing

Recommended Posts

This one is argued all the time.

What is the timing of Kanan and Inertial dampeners? 

Kanan says “after” fully executing, and ID says “then” receive...

I’ve been argued that it’s all ability que so you can remove the stress, but in the Rules Reference under timing it says “After: The effect resolves immediately following the timing specified.”

so should not Kanan with “after” mean immediately, aka before ID? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

I believe Inertial Dampeners should leave the ability queue like so

Execute maneuver => Gain 1 stress => Perform Action step.

After you execute the maneuver, Kanan is triggered adding his ability to the front of the ability queue.

Kanan Jarrus => Gain 1 stress => Perform Action Step.

This would result in Kanan always triggering before the stress from inertial dampeners is gained.

I can see some people imagining that Inertial Dampeners will result in an ability queue like so:

Execute maneuver and gain 1 stress => Perform Action step.

In which case, executing the maneuver and gaining the stress are all part of the same step and Kanan would not trigger until all of that step was complete, but I sadly do not know of anything in the rules documents to explicitly state if Inertial Dampeners would be two steps in the ability queue or just 1 step.

Edited by joeshmoe554

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

kanan happens first, immediately after you've gone through 1. Maneuver ship and 2. Check difficulty (page 13 of the rules reference). you then receive a stress token.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was under the impression that "after" and "then" implies precisely the same timing (i.e. immediately following the maneuver), and since both are ability effects with the same trigger, they can be resolved in the order of the player's choosing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The important part to note from the rules reference is this:

Quote

2. If a player has multiple abilities that triggered from the same event, that player chooses the order that those abilities are added to the ability queue.

3. If resolving an effect from the ability queue triggers additional effects, they are added to the front of the ability queue using the above rules.

Receiving a stress is not triggered "After executing a maneuver", but as part of Inertial Dampeners which is triggered "Before you would execute a maneuver"  Since it is already in the ability queue when Kanan triggers "After a friendly ... fully executes a white maneuver", Kanan's ability would be added to the front of the ability queue and complete before receiving the stress from Inertial Dampeners.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

While Kanan is triggered and placed in the ability queue in the middle of Inertial Dampener's ability, you must finish resolving the current ability before moving on in the ability queue, so you would gain the stress from ID before resolving Kanan.

The exception being if it is a replacement effect, which are resolved before all other things.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...