Jump to content
KCDodger

"My dad is wrong" or, "Help Lack get rules across to their family."

Recommended Posts

He's totally convinced you can barrel roll as Vader, twice, if you use Supernatural instincts. I tell him, "No, it's a hard and fast rule that you cannot do the same action twice, no matter what."

Somebody help me out here.

I'll be returning to this topic for other troublesome rule disputes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hmm. I think Pg. 3 of the Rules Reference is your best bet. Ships cannot perform the same action more than once in a round. It does not matter how you get the action, can't do it twice.

________

Just a funny side story, for a while when my dad and I started out, we would only change 1 focus with a focus token. It was revolutionary when we figured out focus changed all results!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, HanScottFirst said:

Hmm. I think Pg. 3 of the Rules Reference is your best bet. Ships cannot perform the same action more than once in a round. It does not matter how you get the action, can't do it twice.

________

Just a funny side story, for a while when my dad and I started out, we would only change 1 focus with a focus token. It was revolutionary when we figured out focus changed all results!

I can only imagine..! It's crazy just how good focus actually is.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
25 minutes ago, HanScottFirst said:

Hmm. I think Pg. 3 of the Rules Reference is your best bet. Ships cannot perform the same action more than once in a round. It does not matter how you get the action, can't do it twice.

________

Just a funny side story, for a while when my dad and I started out, we would only change 1 focus with a focus token. It was revolutionary when we figured out focus changed all results!

When my sister and I started out, I thought crits counted as two. My poor A-wing...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, FlyingAnchors said:

When my sister and I started out, I thought crits counted as two. My poor A-wing...

Similar story, my little sister threw her A-Wings into asteroids. She drew direct damage both times on different A-Wings. We thought rolling for that kind of damage meant it went past shields.

Oops.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
29 minutes ago, Captain Lackwit said:

I can only imagine..! It's crazy just how good focus actually is.

Assuming you can manage to roll at least one Focus icon.  >_>

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, Captain Lackwit said:

And that's what EPTs and other types of cards are for! Guaranteeing at least one Focus.

What EPT guarantees a Focus?  The only ones I can find that would help with that are Predator (which still won't help much) and Heroic, and Heroic is sadly restricted to Resistance.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, JJ48 said:

What EPT guarantees a Focus?  The only ones I can find that would help with that are Predator (which still won't help much) and Heroic, and Heroic is sadly restricted to Resistance.

Well... Nothing. But help can be had, I think.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, HanScottFirst said:

 

Just a funny side story, for a while when my dad and I started out, we would only change 1 focus with a focus token. It was revolutionary when we figured out focus changed all results!

The origins of calculate

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, Captain Lackwit said:

He's totally convinced you can barrel roll as Vader, twice, if you use Supernatural instincts. I tell him, "No, it's a hard and fast rule that you cannot do the same action twice, no matter what."

Somebody help me out here.

I'll be returning to this topic for other troublesome rule disputes.

Does he say "I'll try spinning, that's a good trick!" when he does this? If so, maybe you should let it slide?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, Captain Lackwit said:

He's totally convinced you can barrel roll as Vader, twice, if you use Supernatural instincts. I tell him, "No, it's a hard and fast rule that you cannot do the same action twice, no matter what."

Heh.  That is literally the first rules misunderstanding I ever had in X-Wing, back in December of 2012.  Lemme tell you, Vader with Expert Handling was tough to hunt down!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, HanScottFirst said:

Hmm. I think Pg. 3 of the Rules Reference is your best bet. Ships cannot perform the same action more than once in a round. It does not matter how you get the action, can't do it twice.

________

Just a funny side story, for a while when my dad and I started out, we would only change 1 focus with a focus token. It was revolutionary when we figured out focus changed all results!

For my first 10 or so games I thought that you would bump an asteroid just like you bump ships(except you can’t eveb go past them with a template). The first time I bumped one dead-on and realized there was no way out based on my understanding of the rules I finally went and read them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
28 minutes ago, TasteTheRainbow said:

For my first 10 or so games I thought that you would bump an asteroid just like you bump ships(except you can’t eveb go past them with a template). The first time I bumped one dead-on and realized there was no way out based on my understanding of the rules I finally went and read them.

WAaaaaaaait a minute

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On ‎1‎/‎2‎/‎2019 at 4:29 PM, Captain Lackwit said:

He's totally convinced you can barrel roll as Vader, twice, if you use Supernatural instincts. I tell him, "No, it's a hard and fast rule that you cannot do the same action twice, no matter what."

Somebody help me out here.

I'll be returning to this topic for other troublesome rule disputes.

Cap,

Golden rule - No matter how wrong you dad is ..... he's always right

(speaking from experience)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/2/2019 at 12:37 AM, HanScottFirst said:

Hmm. I think Pg. 3 of the Rules Reference is your best bet. Ships cannot perform the same action more than once in a round. It does not matter how you get the action, can't do it twice.

________

Just a funny side story, for a while when my dad and I started out, we would only change 1 focus with a focus token. It was revolutionary when we figured out focus changed all results!

I used to use focus the same way. Then my nephew played outside the group and came back to teach us the right way. Boy did that change things!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, HammerGibbens said:

As far as rules flubs go, we used to "Activate" every ship by performing their maneuver only, and then go back over a second time in initiative order performing actions, and THEN do combat.

I kind of like that rule. Makes it so you know where everyone moved. Big help for low initiative pilots especially torp carriers to get TL's.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...