Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Bayushi Shunsuke

[Ruling] Playing your opponent's cards (eg Stolen Secrets)

Recommended Posts

If I play an opponent's character or attachment as though it was in my hand (e.g. Stolen Secrets, Trading on the Sand Road), do I gain control of the card when it enters play? As written it seems my opponent would control the card because the play effects don't grant control after leaving the hand and cards enter play under their owner's control, which seems counter-intuitive.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Bayushi Shunsuke said:

If I play an opponent's character or attachment as though it was in my hand (e.g. Stolen Secrets, Trading on the Sand Road), do I gain control of the card when it enters play? As written it seems my opponent would control the card because the play effects don't grant control after leaving the hand and cards enter play under their owner's control, which seems counter-intuitive.

Yes, you control the attachment you have played. The default is that cards are controlled by their owners, but perhaps it is more accurate to say that cards are controlled by the player that plays them (which is usually their owner).

If you play a card, you control that card until a card or game effect changes that.

[Tyler Parrott: December 27, 2018]

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...