Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Kyuketsuki

Curriculum and school advancement

Recommended Posts

hi

hopefully people here can help, im having a hard time, with the xp rules and curriculum [admittedly im not sold on the new rules as of yet].

1. am i right in my assumption that you dont need to buy every item on the curriculum table to advance in rank, only enough to hit the xp limit for the next rank?

2. that a player could just buy skills and advance, if this is the case what is the benefits of the next rank other that the xp cost of skills etc.

3. regardless of a kata/technique being on the rank 5 list i could still buy it at rank 1 if i met the requirements and spent the xp?

 

sorry for my stupidity, but im just not gelling with the rule at the moment. 

 

Edited by Kyuketsuki
stupidity

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1. You need only spend the xp to advance to the next rank. XP can be spent on any skill or technique you have access to, though any XP spent on items *not* on the current curriculum list count as half XP for advancement.

2. The benefit is making your school ability stronger, and you gain access to stronger techniques. Sometimes you gain special access to techniques at particular ranks in the curriculum too.

3. If the school gives you access to Kata then you can by any Kata at any time as long as your school rank is equal to or greater than the technique rank you wish to buy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Kyuketsuki said:

hi

hopefully people here can help, im having a hard time, with the xp rules and curriculum [admittedly im not sold on the new rules as of yet].

1. am i right in my assumption that you dont need to buy every item on the curriculum table to advance in rank, only enough to hit the xp limit for the next rank?

2. that a player could just buy skills and advance, if this is the case what is the benefits of the next rank other that the xp cost of skills etc.

3. regardless of a kata/technique being on the rank 5 list i could still buy it at rank 1 if i met the requirements and spent the xp?

 

sorry for my stupidity, but im just not gelling with the rule at the moment. 

 

#1 correct. In fact, you cannot buy all of them within the level-up requirement...

#2 correct, but not bright of them to do.  It's usually better to raise at least a low ring and add a talent or two.

#2A The benefit of advancing in rank is usually some School Rank bonus in the school ability, or in certain kata and shūji, plus access to higher rank kaka, shūji, invocations, and/or rituals.

#3 only if it's in your school's rank 1 list... the technique's rank is a school rank prerequisite which still has to be met. If it's listed in a lower school rank's list, it's called "privileged access" and, yes, you can then buy it while in the rank it's listed for.

Self-deprecation isn't needed - it's not stupidity to cure one's lack of grasp.

And, because it's relevant, but tangential

Unless it's on the advances for the current rank, in the advances for your current title (if any), or is you SR or less in one of the school's 3 listed technique types, you cannot buy the technique.

It helps to think of advancement as separate from XP.

You have 2 advancement tracks to fill - one for current school rank, and one for current title.

Anything you pay XP for also puts points into one of those two advancement pools, your choice which. If the gain is on the list (current level if it's the school pool) for the pool chosen, then it adds the same amount as the XP spent; if not, it adds half-value. Note that ring raises are ALWAYS half-value. 

Oh, and rounding is always up, per the FAQ.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...