Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
alesk1978

N-1 Starfighter and Cunning

Recommended Posts

Let's say I rolled a special on Cunning and my opponent has an exausted N-1 Starfighter ... Can I destroy his N-1?

I'm thinking yes but just want to make sure ..

N-1 special says "Ready or discard an exhausted vehicle that is not a copy of this support."

Cunning special says "Resolve a special ability () on another card in play as if it were your card."

So since Cunning is using the actual card, making it not a copy of it, it can use that N-1 special to destory it ... 

 

That's what I think.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also say no.

What it comes down to is can the n-1 regularly destroy itself? Because that's what we're asking here. I think no, since it is still an n-1 and thus a "copy" of itself.

They have ruled multiple times that using the special ability of cunning is like using the card/die itself. So if Vader 2's special hurts himself and Thermal Detonator discards itself rather than Cunning, I think you're still subject to that restriction on the N1. Gotta take the good with the bad right?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Cunning is like stealing other specials. N-1 said is not a copy of this Support, it doesn't say anything about not a copy of this Special.  So that's why i said yes because of that. Support and special are completely different way to solve this situation.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The problem is that the "this" in the N1 Special still refers to the N1 because of how they've ruled in the past. Let's look at the wording on Thermal Detonator:

Quote

Special: Deal 3 damage to each of an opponent's characters. Discard this upgrade from play.

What do you think happens when you use Cunning on Thermal Detonator? Going by your logic that it just steals their specials, you should have to discard your Cunning(since it's an upgrade too) when you use the effect right? It's your Cunning die using the special, and it says discard this upgrade from play.

Actually you don't discard your cunning at all! If you're not familiar the FAQ says:

Can I use Cunning (65) to trigger discard an opponent’s Thermal Detonator (67) or Infantry Grenades (17)?

Yes. You will deal the damage to an opponent’s characters and then discard the Thermal Detonator or Infantry Grenades.

Because of that ruling, Cunning would still treat the "this" line in the N-1 text as itself rather than the Cunning. In my opinion it looks pretty cut and dry that you can't hit the N-1 with it's own special.

Edited by Atomisk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...