Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Bayushi Shunsuke

[Ruling] Shosuro Sadako & Bayushi Yojiro

Recommended Posts

Suppose Bayushi Yojiro (imperial cycle #28) and a dishonored Shosuro Sadako (elemental cycle #96) are participating in the same conflict. Yojiro's constant ability reads "While this character is participating in a conflict, ignore the effects of each status token on each participating character." Sadako's constant ability reads "While this character is dishonored, add its glory to it's [mil] and [pol] instead of subtracting it." In this situation, is Sadako's glory added to her skill? Her effect is not an effect of a status token but it replaces the effect of a status token. Does the order in which the effects become active matter? Suppose Sadako is participating in a conflict and is dishonored by the card Court Games (core set #206) then Yojiro is brought into the conflict by Favorable Ground (core set #128). Is this scenario different than if Yojiro had been participating in the conflict when Court Games was played to dishonor Sadako? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Bayushi Shunsuke said:

Suppose Bayushi Yojiro (imperial cycle #28) and a dishonored Shosuro Sadako (elemental cycle #96) are participating in the same conflict. Yojiro's constant ability reads "While this character is participating in a conflict, ignore the effects of each status token on each participating character." Sadako's constant ability reads "While this character is dishonored, add its glory to it's [mil] and [pol] instead of subtracting it." In this situation, is Sadako's glory added to her skill? Her effect is not an effect of a status token but it replaces the effect of a status token. Does the order in which the effects become active matter? Suppose Sadako is participating in a conflict and is dishonored by the card Court Games (core set #206) then Yojiro is brought into the conflict by Favorable Ground (core set #128). Is this scenario different than if Yojiro had been participating in the conflict when Court Games was played to dishonor Sadako? 

It does not matter the order in which things happen: If Yojiro and Sadako are in a conflict together, Sadako’s dishonored status token will not add her glory to her skills. Because Yojiro causes the status token to be ignored, there is no skill subtraction for Sadako’s text to replace.

[Tyler Parrott: September 24, 2018]

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...