Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Nheko

Two weapon fighting

Recommended Posts

I had envisioned a Kitsuki Investigator using Gao (tiger hook swords) to ensnare his opponents. I was planning to give her Ambidexterity for the re-roll, and Coiling Serpent Kata. But not sure since they’re being used in pairs, do I incur in penalties when I fight two handed?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ambidexterity, or, how to get reroll on every melee checks...

to answer your question, dual wielding gives no penalty and no bonus. some techniques/abilities supplement it though. but ultimately, unless you want to use a two handed weapon, no mechanical reason not to dual wield.

Edited by Avatar111

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As @Avatar111 says, there's no specific rules (good or bad) for 'dual wielding'.

  • You can have a single-handed weapon in each hand (obviously this limits you to single-handed grips if a weapon has multiple grips).
  • You can attack with either as a strike action.
  • There is no default 'dual strike' action. Spinning Blades Style and the Mirumoto mastery ability Heart Of The Dragon let you roll from one strike action into a second.
  • A Tinbe-Rochin pair lets you do a guard-and-strike combination as a movement & support action - increasing the TN to hit you by one and decreasing the TN of your next strike by one. Obviously that's your action, so it's an investment - either combine this weapon pairing with Air Stance for extra extra TN to be hit, or with Water Stance so you can fight from behind your shield each turn.
  • Note that Ambidextrous wouldn't necessarily apply to every single roll - whilst you can argue for it, the benefit is about unexpected blows from your off-hand*, so whilst I'd probably let you get at least one reroll in a conflict scene, it's not going to be rerolls all day every day.

 

* "I know something you do not." "What?" "I.....am not left-handed."

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...