Bertie Wooster 1,902 Posted December 19, 2018 Jendon's ability says "instead of attacking." Does Jendon himself need to be in range of an enemy target in order to pull off his ability? 1 Admiral Calkins reacted to this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Admiral Calkins 1,479 Posted December 19, 2018 No, he does not need to be in range of the enemy target. From the most recent FAQ: "Colonel Jendon can resolve his effect if he is not engaged or is unable to perform an attack due to some other effect." This means that he does not have to be engaged with the enemy target in order to use his ability on it. 1 Bertie Wooster reacted to this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bertie Wooster 1,902 Posted December 19, 2018 19 minutes ago, Admiral Calkins said: No, he does not need to be in range of the enemy target. From the most recent FAQ: "Colonel Jendon can resolve his effect if he is not engaged or is unable to perform an attack due to some other effect." This means that he does not have to be engaged with the enemy target in order to use his ability on it. Thank you, that's how I thought it worked, but I wanted to be sure. 1 Admiral Calkins reacted to this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Admiral Calkins 1,479 Posted December 19, 2018 Just now, Bertie Wooster said: Thank you, that's how I thought it worked, but I wanted to be sure. You made me look it up again though. For a second, you had me worried. I was thinking, "****! I hope I haven't been playing him wrong!" 1 Bertie Wooster reacted to this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ginkapo 9,387 Posted December 19, 2018 First step of attack is declaring a target, second step is checking they are in range. Every squadron can always attack, they just might be shooting into the breeze if they pick the wrong target. 1 Bertie Wooster reacted to this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Karneck 1,993 Posted December 19, 2018 Also, to be sure it's understood, Jendon cannot move in the squadron phase and pass his attack. Only one or the other unless activated by a squad command 1 2 Bertie Wooster, Admiral Calkins and Crawfskeezen reacted to this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Drasnighta 27,025 Posted December 19, 2018 (Note, the following terminology is unofficial and is only used for instructional purposes) You can think of it as “Do I have an attack action?” Instead of “Can I attack?” In that instance, during a Squadron Command, Jendon has both a Move action and an Attack action. During the squadron phase, he can have EITHER a move action OR an attack action. What he exactly does with that attack ais was up to you 🙂. Either throwing his black dice or having someone else do theirs instead. 3 Ardaedhel, Doppelganger and Bertie Wooster reacted to this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ShoutingMan 100 Posted July 7, 2019 Does Bomber Command Center stack with Colonel Jendon, if the attack is passed to a Bomber? (Can BCC be used twice on the same squadron, since it's two different attacks via jendon?) Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Drasnighta 27,025 Posted July 7, 2019 (edited) You can use Bomber Command once on each attack by a bomber, not once per activation or anything more limited than that... Each attack made is a Separate attack, unless you're specifically told otherwise. So it doesn't matter how the Bomber is attacking, Bomber Command can apply. As soon as you choose to use Colonel Jendon's ability, its important to note that, for all intents and purposes, Colonel Jendon is not attacking. Its not a surrogate attack or anything like that, the nominated Squadron is attacking, and all of the rules that apply to its attack, apply... Rather than rules that could and or would apply to Jendons attack. This is important to note, in the case of say, Flight Controllers... Because although Flight Controllers would apply to Jendon's attack (as he is the one activating), the Squadron nominated by his ability is not, and thus, woul dnot gain the bonus. Edited July 7, 2019 by Drasnighta 2 Bertie Wooster and ShoutingMan reacted to this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
eliteone 660 Posted July 8, 2019 On 7/7/2019 at 9:53 AM, Drasnighta said: You can use Bomber Command once on each attack by a bomber, not once per activation or anything more limited than that... Each attack made is a Separate attack, unless you're specifically told otherwise. So it doesn't matter how the Bomber is attacking, Bomber Command can apply. As soon as you choose to use Colonel Jendon's ability, its important to note that, for all intents and purposes, Colonel Jendon is not attacking. Its not a surrogate attack or anything like that, the nominated Squadron is attacking, and all of the rules that apply to its attack, apply... Rather than rules that could and or would apply to Jendons attack. This is important to note, in the case of say, Flight Controllers... Because although Flight Controllers would apply to Jendon's attack (as he is the one activating), the Squadron nominated by his ability is not, and thus, woul dnot gain the bonus. Also if Jendon uses his ability on a squadron with Swarm at distance 1 of Howlrunner, that squadron would get the extra blue die....a wounded Bossk would get his Auto-Acc, etc. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites