Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Zaaik

Ettins in Genesys

Recommended Posts

I like Ettins, yet they do not appear in the Realms of Terrinoth book, I was going to just try and convert them myself but thought I'd ask here first to see if anyone has already taken a stab at it or to look for any suggestions.

Edited by Zaaik

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ettins are essentially just another kind of giant. So you could easily use RoT's Giant profile without modification. The second head is often just flavor (considerimg they're combined intellect is typically still pretty low).

If you wish to mechanically distinguish the second head: You could give the Giant another rank in Vigilance and Perception. You could also give the Ettin a second, limited action (such as incanting a Spell) or else the equivalent of two-weapon fighting.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've got an ettin in the Creature Catalogue, you're welcome to use this, or adapt it as you see fit:

Ettin (Nemesis) – These powerful two-headed giants are foul-smelling and bad-tempered. Thankfully, they prize solitude, and typically dwell far away from civilization. They are very difficult to surprise.

Brawn: 5 Agility: 1 Intelligence: 2

Cunning: 3 Willpower: 2 Presence: 1

Soak: 6 Wounds: 24 Strain: 12 M/R Defense: 0/0

Skills: Brawl 2, Melee (Light) 2, Perception 3, Resilience 2, Survival 2, Vigilance 3

Talents: Adversary 1 (upgrade difficulty of all combat checks against this creature once)

Abilities: Silhouette 2

Two Heads (an ettin may take a second maneuver each turn for free, but may take no more than two maneuvers total)

Better Than One (any effect that blinds, charms, disorients, knocks out, or staggers an ettin only takes effect if both heads are affected)

Multiattack (An ettin does not increase the difficulty of combined checks to attack with its weapons, and may spend 2 Advantage or Triumph to hit with its additional weapon)

Equipment: Huge Axe (Brawl; Damage: 9; Critical: 3; Range [Engaged], Pierce 2, Vicious 2), Huge Morningstar (Brawl; Damage: 10; Critical: 4; Range [Engaged]; Pierce 2, Sunder)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
30 minutes ago, Direach said:

I've got an ettin in the Creature Catalogue, you're welcome to use this, or adapt it as you see fit:

Ettin (Nemesis) – These powerful two-headed giants are foul-smelling and bad-tempered. Thankfully, they prize solitude, and typically dwell far away from civilization. They are very difficult to surprise.

Brawn: 5 Agility: 1 Intelligence: 2

Cunning: 3 Willpower: 2 Presence: 1

Soak: 6 Wounds: 24 Strain: 12 M/R Defense: 0/0

Skills: Brawl 2, Melee (Light) 2, Perception 3, Resilience 2, Survival 2, Vigilance 3

Talents: Adversary 1 (upgrade difficulty of all combat checks against this creature once)

Abilities: Silhouette 2

Two Heads (an ettin may take a second maneuver each turn for free, but may take no more than two maneuvers total)

Better Than One (any effect that blinds, charms, disorients, knocks out, or staggers an ettin only takes effect if both heads are affected)

Multiattack (An ettin does not increase the difficulty of combined checks to attack with its weapons, and may spend 2 Advantage or Triumph to hit with its additional weapon)

Equipment: Huge Axe (Brawl; Damage: 9; Critical: 3; Range [Engaged], Pierce 2, Vicious 2), Huge Morningstar (Brawl; Damage: 10; Critical: 4; Range [Engaged]; Pierce 2, Sunder)

I like these stats. The special abilities would work for Troigs in Star Wars, too! How do you determine if an attack affects both heads? I'm thinking it might cost a certain amount of advantage, perhaps? Or maybe you can affect one head at a time on two different actions?

Edited by SavageBob

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's pretty open-ended, by intent; I'll let a GM decide what affects both heads. There are a lot of different possibilities, too many to account for in a stat block (one player staggers one head with a curse, another puts a bag over the head of the other one, etc).

I'd say as a general rule of thumb, if you have at least two additional Advantage to spend, an effect you apply to one can be applied to both (If you activate Disorient with 2 Advantage, and have 2 more, you could Disorient both heads).

Edited by Direach

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...