Jump to content
TeamPlatypus

"One Stood Against Many" Question

Recommended Posts

So many other ways this could have been templated, but I think it falls under the umbrella of not having proper targeting rules. If the intention is to fight with a single creature (pretty obvious to my eyes), then you should have to choose/select/target (whatever keyword or nomenclature) that creature at the outset of the effect. 

I guess the simpler way to clarify this issue is to say that the indefinite article "a" means "one," but then we may as well be re-hashing the "does may mean may or does may mean must?" controversy of years past. English is hard.  

Edited by WonderWAAAGH

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is the first time I am going to use a smiley in this post: :)

This is the second time I am going to use a smiley in this post: :(

This is the third time I am going to use a smiley in this post: :P

There were three times when I used a smiley in this post. I "used a smiley" in this post three times.

 

Of course, there's a difference between "There are three times in this post where I used a smiley" and "There is a smiley that I used three times in this post" and that's probably where the confusion stems from, since "I used a smiley three times in this post" could be construed as either.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Derrault said:

No, it actually can’t be three different bears. A Bear is indefinite only in the sense of ‘which specific bear’.

Being on a plane three times actually is saying you’ve only boarded the one plane three times. If you wanted to indicate that you’ve been on three separate planes (and felt the need to specify that each was only boarded once) you’d could say it as “I’ve been on planes three times in my life, each time a different one.”

Edit: To be clear, I’m not saying that people don’t violate the actual meaning of words or grammar routinely, but it is still incorrect usage. 

 

I very much believe you are wrong, but we are getting deep enough into grammar that I can't find a reliable text to point you to. In case it matters, I learned English in the north east of the USA. The best I can do is list more examples, and see if you think any of them are written correctly. Below are examples where 'a' is used before a noun, but the noun doesn't refer to the same instance of that thing every time. 

 

I have ordered a banana split multiple times at UDF. 

I go on a camping trip every year. 

I make sure to always own a deck of cards. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 hours ago, Revert said:

 

I very much believe you are wrong, but we are getting deep enough into grammar that I can't find a reliable text to point you to. In case it matters, I learned English in the north east of the USA. The best I can do is list more examples, and see if you think any of them are written correctly. Below are examples where 'a' is used before a noun, but the noun doesn't refer to the same instance of that thing every time. 

 

I have ordered a banana split multiple times at UDF. 

I go on a camping trip every year. 

I make sure to always own a deck of cards. 

I typically don't feel a need to go out of my way and engage on the internet. But seriously. Revert has technically proven his point in a way that is probably at the upper limit of clarity. And yet somehow Derrault is typing letters to disagree. My HEAD!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And just to confirm that this sense is not unknown to Keyforge, look at Orbital Bombardment. 

"Reveal any number of Mars cards from your hand. For each card revealed this way, deal 2 damage to a creature."

And the reminder text helpfully informs us - "(You may choose a different creature each time.)"

So from the Keyforge designers' perspective, using "a" can easily signify multiple different creatures.

Edited by Showsni
Decided Keyforge probably had multiple designers

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One Stood Against Many example to play:

On my board i have one sanctum creature, my opponent have only one creature.

I reap with my sanctum creature, after this action i use one stood against many, i ready my sanctum creature and i fight with enemy creature. 

Now i ready my sanctum for second fight but my opponent doesn't have any creature.....i reap.

My actions is correct?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Jester Firefly said:

One Stood Against Many example to play:

On my board i have one sanctum creature, my opponent have only one creature.

I reap with my sanctum creature, after this action i use one stood against many, i ready my sanctum creature and i fight with enemy creature. 

Now i ready my sanctum for second fight but my opponent doesn't have any creature.....i reap.

My actions is correct?

Yes. Someone is probably going to try and clarify and make it more complicated but you are essentially correct.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, TheSpitfired said:

Yes. Someone is probably going to try and clarify and make it more complicated but you are essentially correct.

If i use OSAM on my stunned creature (sanctum/non-sanctum) i remove the stun token. Exemple:

Remove token->make first fight

Second Fight

Third fight

Or:

Remove token

Make Second Fight

Third fight

 

which of the two actions is correct?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
25 minutes ago, Jester Firefly said:

If i use OSAM on my stunned creature (sanctum/non-sanctum) i remove the stun token. Exemple:

Remove token->make first fight

Second Fight

Third fight

Or:

Remove token

Make Second Fight

Third fight

 

which of the two actions is correct?

Remove stun token (replaces 1st fight)

make second fight

make third fight.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 minutes ago, TheSpitfired said:

Remove stun token (replaces 1st fight)

make second fight

make third fight.

So if i remove the stun i make only 2 fight?

Edited by Jester Firefly

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, TheSpitfired said:

Yes. Again some might try to say the minor details are off but that is essentially correct.

Last exemple: i use OSAM for reap with a sanctum creature, if that creature have an ability when he reap, this ability trigger or not? Thanks for your answers 😉

Edited by Jester Firefly

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, Jester Firefly said:

Last exemple: i use OSAM for reap with a sanctum creature, if that creature have an ability when he reap, this ability trigger or not? Thanks for your answers 😉

Yes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, Jester Firefly said:

Last exemple: i use OSAM for reap with a sanctum creature, if that creature have an ability when he reap, this ability trigger or not? Thanks for your answers 😉

you cannot use OSAM to reap. You can only reap after OSAM has readied a Sanctum creature and there is no one to fight. At this point the creature is ready, OSAM has been fully resolved and goes to the discard pile and then you can reap with the ready creature, resolving it's reap effect as normal.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi all,

A "simple" question: playing OSAM, can you choose as creature a Sanctum one or can you choose any other creature you have on the table (already in play when you decide using OSAM) even if the creature is not-Sanctum?

Thanks in advanced

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 hours ago, raul0003333 said:

Hi all,

A "simple" question: playing OSAM, can you choose as creature a Sanctum one or can you choose any other creature you have on the table (already in play when you decide using OSAM) even if the creature is not-Sanctum?

Thanks in advanced

I always get scared when someone revives a dead thread, but that is a good question. Yes, you can target any friendly creature on your battle line when you play OSAM, regardless of what house they are in. Especially useful if you have a creature from a different house with Skirmish. :) 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, TheSpitfired said:

I always get scared when someone revives a dead thread, but that is a good question. Yes, you can target any friendly creature on your battle line when you play OSAM, regardless of what house they are in. Especially useful if you have a creature from a different house with Skirmish. :) 

Thanks!!! :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...