Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
saunderez

Exhaust to Attack?

Recommended Posts

Maybe I missed something, but I received my new 2-player core set yesterday and played through the first quest and noticed something different from "first edition."  From the learn to play rules (also posted on the FFG page, dated 26 JUL 2018), I don't see any reference to exhausting in order to attack.  The Rules Reference (dated 29 MAR 2018) still notes that attackers are exhausted. 

So which is it?  Do characters no longer exhaust in order to attack, as per the later dated learn to play rules, or is this a typo?  If characters, in fact, do not exhaust to attack, is there anything that keeps a single heavy hitter from attacking every enemy engaged with a player?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, Tonbo Karasu said:

Are you sure this is in the right section?  L5R doesn't have a 2-player core.

It's not really unreasonable to call the core set a 2-player core set.  It does have instructions for building 2 learn-to-play decks.  That said, the rules I see posted have different dates than the OP.  Learn to Play is dated August 3, 2017 and RRG is October 17, 2018.  Found here.

The answer to the question: Yes, characters participating in a conflict (attacking or defending) bow at the end of the conflict.  This is included in the Learn to Play rules (pg 13, under the heading "End of Conflict).

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Khudzlin said:

Actually, characters attacking enemies engaged with players suggests LotR rather than L5R.

Heh, that's what I get for not knowing the other FFG games (if it's not L5R or SWLCG, I won't recognize the terminology). 😁

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
18 hours ago, dbmeboy said:

Heh, that's what I get for not knowing the other FFG games (if it's not L5R or SWLCG, I won't recognize the terminology). 😁

Yeah, you could only see that the terminology didn't fit with the games you know: L5R uses "enemy" only as an adjective (as in "enemy character") and, iirc (it's been a long time and I've sold my collection), so does SW (as in "enemy unit" or "enemy objective"). It just happens that I have at least tried all the LCGs (I only play AGoT, L5R and Arkham Horror seriously, though), so I can spot the terminology: only the coops use "enemy" as a noun (it's a card type in both AH and LotR) and AH doesn't have characters.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...